• '17 '15

    Hello,

    If Japan bombs the Industrial Complex in India and captures it, what happens? The complex is.downgraded to.a minor factory, but will the minor factory have damage on it thatJapan will have to repair?

    Thank you


  • @Rand:

    Hello,

    If Japan bombs the Industrial Complex in India and captures it, what happens? The complex is.downgraded to.a minor factory, but will the minor factory have damage on it thatJapan will have to repair?

    Thank you

    The factory will keep the damage it had originaly.
    If the damage on the factory exceeds 6 then the excess is removed because a minor factory can only have 6 damage.

  • 2021 2020 '18 '17

    This is one thing to consider when you are deciding whether to bomb a factory;  if the factory will soon be yours, don’t bomb it.  More to consider;

    If the factory is seriously damaged, abandon it, don’t repair it.

    Certain repair levels are highly inefficient to bomb.  A factory with 2 damage of 6 damage still risks the bomber but only costs the target $4.

    A factory with 6 of 20 damage needs more than 1 bomber, but less than 3, which means he has to over or undercommit and take unnecessary risks.

    If the target repairs the factory fully, it just gets bombed the same way the next turn, which wasted $6-$20.  Use your excess capacity (Russia @ 19 units, Germany @ +29 units with captured factories) instead

    Especially with Russia and Germany, choosing in a cadgy way how and when to repair can complicate your opponents choices.  Still, they should be able to overwhelm Russia (with bombing and attacking), nevertheless, don’t make it easy.

  • '17 '15

    Great! Thanks for the help and tactical advice.


  • Does the rules actually say what happens to a major that is bombed out so bad that downgrading will automatically destroy it due to having more damage than what a minor can hold or are we just applying logic here? Because if that’s the case, you might want to welcome the enemy to bomb your factory if you’re going to lose it.

  • 2021 2020 '17 '15

    @Caesar:

    Does the rules actually say what happens to a major that is bombed out so bad that downgrading will automatically destroy it due to having more damage than what a minor can hold or are we just applying logic here? Because if that’s the case, you might want to welcome the enemy to bomb your factory if you’re going to lose it.

    Pg 21 Europe 2nd ed rulebook
    “Any damage previously inflicted on a facility remains in
    place until it is repaired (any damage markers beyond 6
    on former major industrial complexes are removed).”

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 3
  • 2
  • 5
  • 4
  • 7
  • 3
  • 9
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

48
Online

15.4k
Users

36.6k
Topics

1.5m
Posts