Question about surprise attacks on carriers


  • would planes still be considered cargo during a initial surprise attack from subs if the carrier is alone? (No destroyer or any other units in the zone)
    We’ve gone over the rules for damaged carriers, surprise attacks, combat sequence and the rules seem vague at best.

    Given the nature of a surprise sub attack I find it unlikely that planes would already be in the air ready to defend before they ever knew an attack was coming.
    regardless were just looking for a fair ruling we can apply unilaterally.

    Thanks in advance for any help!  😄

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @KbKilla:

    would planes still be considered cargo during a initial surprise attack from subs if the carrier is alone? (No destroyer or any other units in the zone)
    We’ve gone over the rules for damaged carriers, surprise attacks, combat sequence and the rules seem vague at best.

    Here is the rule:

    @rulebook:

    Air Defense: Whenever an undamaged carrier is attacked, its aircraft (even those belonging to friendly powers) are considered
    to be defending in the air and fight normally, even if only submarines are attacking and the air units cannot hit them because
    there is no defending destroyer.

    When a damaged carrier is attacked, any air units on board are considered cargo and can’t defend.

    Planes of a nation friendly to an attacking carrier are also considered as cargo.

    HTH 🙂


  • Thanks we have the old rule book, that’s much clearer

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 17
  • 7
  • 4
  • 6
  • 4
  • 36
  • 8
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

37
Online

15.1k
Users

36.0k
Topics

1.5m
Posts