Subs blocking unescorted amphibious assault

  • '17

    Simple question.  I am sure this has been asked many times but I just wanted to post it here since I am unable to find the most up-to-date rules.

    Can a lone transport make an amphibious assault if there is a sub in the seazone?  Specifically I am wondering if I can use a lone transport to assault the Philippines if there is a sub in sz 35 and no planes on the island.  Japan still has all their kamikaze tokens if that makes a difference.

    I have always played assuming this move would be allowed but like I said I just wanted to see if the rules have been changed.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated.

  • '18 '17 '16

    No. Also, kamikazes can’t target transports.

    I assume you mean an enemy sub.

  • '17 '16

    Yes, this rule was changed. First Edition, it was allowed; but Second Edition, you have to bring a surface warship with Transports.

  • '17

    Thank you for the answer.

  • '17

    I do have a follow up question.  In my example there is a lone Japanese sub in sz 35 which surrounds the Philippines.  Let’s say I as the USA move one destroyer and one loaded transport into the seazone in an attempt to amphibious assault.  According to the rules I should be able to ignore the sub and unload my land units.

    However, the Japanese player decides to use their kamikaze tokens and lands a strike on the destroyer.  What affect does this have on the amphibious assault?

  • '17 '16 '15

    this was just asked on the league forum and to my surprise even if the kamis kill the DD you can still land due to the fact that the kamis don’t attack until after the DD has already neutralized the sub.


  • @barney:

    this was just asked on the league forum and to my surprise even if the kamis kill the DD you can still land due to the fact that the kamis don’t attack until after the DD has already neutralized the sub.

    That is not in the rules anywhere.
    Kamis happen before any combat.
    You can ignore the sub during the assault if there is a ship escorting the transport.

    The rules are not clear on this specific situation, it just does not clarify it.
    You could just as easy argue that since there is no escort the sub cannot be ignored.

  • 2021 2020 '19 '18 '17 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @csaw_1988:

    I do have a follow up question.  In my example there is a lone Japanese sub in sz 35 which surrounds the Philippines.  Let’s say I as the USA move one destroyer and one loaded transport into the seazone in an attempt to amphibious assault.  According to the rules I should be able to ignore the sub and unload my land units.

    However, the Japanese player decides to use their kamikaze tokens and lands a strike on the destroyer.  What affect does this have on the amphibious assault?

    @ShadowHAwk:

    @barney:

    this was just asked on the league forum and to my surprise even if the kamis kill the DD you can still land due to the fact that the kamis don’t attack until after the DD has already neutralized the sub.

    That is not in the rules anywhere.
    Kamis happen before any combat.
    You can ignore the sub during the assault if there is a ship escorting the transport.

    The rules are not clear on this specific situation, it just does not clarify it.
    You could just as easy argue that since there is no escort the sub cannot be ignored.

    Actually it is in the rules and the situation is clear:

    @rulebook:

    However, a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy submarines unless at
    least 1 warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.

    The requirement of an escorting warship is a requirement that has to be fulfilled “at the end of the Combat Move Phase”.
    Kamikaze occurs later at the beginning of the Conduct Combat Phase.
    So if the destroyer is sunk by Kamikaze during Conduct Combat Phase this fact will not stop the transport from being able to unload.

  • '17

    Thanks again for the help.  I am playing a very close league game so I am sure it was my opponent that asked the same question.

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 13
  • 3
  • 6
  • 5
  • 12
  • 4
  • 9
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

63
Online

15.1k
Users

36.0k
Topics

1.5m
Posts