Every nation starts with 5 victory cities (VCs), each worth a certain number of victory city points (VCPs). Of these 5 VCs, 1 is designated as a capital (worth 5 VCPs), 1 other is designated as a major VC (worth 3 VCPs), 2 others are designated as moderate VCs (worth 2 VCPs each), and the last one is designated as a minor VC (worth 1 VCP).
The following is the list of VCs, the corresponding VCP value for that VC and the territory in which each is located. The VCs are organized by nation.
Rome (3)–S. Europe
Paris (2)–W. Europe
Toronto (3)–E. Canada
Washington (5)–E. US
Los Angeles (3)–W. US
Chicago (2)–C. US
Infantry Unit Placement at VCs
ICs no longer build infantry units. Infantry units are assembled only in territories containing VCs. They are still purchased and mobilized at the same time as non-infantry units. In order to purchase and place any infantry in a VC, that VC must have been in your control at the start of your turn (placing an infantry unit in a VC can be considered the same as placing the infantry in the territory containing that VC).
For each of the 5 VCs that are originally owned by each nation, the maximum number of infantry that may be purchased and placed at the VC per turn is equal to the corresponding value of VCPs. The only exceptions to this are that a maximum of only 3 infantry per turn may be placed at the UK and US capitals and only 1 Japanese infantry per turn at each of the Japanese major and moderate VCs.
For each captured VC, the infantry placement limits differ between the Axis nations and the Allied nations. For captured Allied VCs, the occupying Axis nation may purchase and place no infantry at any captured minor VC and 1 infantry per turn at each of the other captured VCs. For captured Axis VCs, the occupying Allied nation may purchase and place 1 infantry per turn at each captured minor VC and 2 infantry per turn at each of other captured VCs.
If any territory containing a VC is attacked before the defender’s first turn, then the defender of that VC gets to immediately purchase any number of infantry not exceeding more than the respective maximums outlined above and place them at that VC. These infantry units are purchased and placed just before the battle takes place. This rule applies only before the defender’s first turn. For example, it can apply to Russia attacking the Ukraine on Russiaâ€s first turn but cannot apply to Germany attacking Karelia on Germanyâ€s first turn (since Russia already had their first turn by the time Germany gets to move).Â
Non-Infantry Unit Placement at ICs
All non-infantry units are still built at ICs, however, unit placement limits at ICs have changed. The total IPC value of all non-infantry units placed per turn at any IC in a given territory may not exceed 4 times the IPC value of that territory. If a certain territory contains both a VC and an IC, then the infantry placement limits for the VC are treated independently from the non-infantry placement limits for the IC.
The cost of purchasing new ICs now depends on the territory in which the IC will be placed. Any player purchasing an IC must declare where the IC will be placed during the â€˜Purchase Unitsâ€ phase. The IC is still placed during the â€˜Mobilize New Unitsâ€ phase. To determine the cost of an IC in a given territory, multiply the number of IPCs for that territory by the number of VCPs within that territory and subtract this number from the base IC cost of 15. For example, an IC in India, FIC or Kwangtung now costs 15 - (3 IPCs)(2 VCPs) = 9 IPCs. An IC in W. Europe or C. US now costs only 15 â€“ (6 IPCs)(2 VCPs) = 3 IPCs.Â All ICs in territories not containing a VC cost 15 IPCs since 0 VCPs multiplied by any number of IPCs always results in a reduction of no IPCs from the base cost.
An IC can only be placed in a territory that was in your possession at the start of your turn. Furthermore, non-infantry units may only be placed at an IC that was there at the start of your turn. (This means once you take over a territory you have to wait 1 turn to build an IC and yet another turn to build units).
All ICs that were present at the start of the game are permanent (i.e. ICs that were never purchased can never be destroyed). Purchased ICs can be destroyed at the defender’s discretion when the attacker wins the battle over that territory.
Just like in the AAR box rules, players agree before the start of the game which set of victory conditions they will use; Total Victory, Major Victory or Minor Victory.
Total Victory: The winning team is the first to control every territory by the end of any US playerâ€s turn.
Major Victory: The Axis win if they control 40 VCPs at the end of any US playerâ€s turn. Likewise, the Allies win if they control 50 VCPs at the end of any US playerâ€s turn.
Minor Victory: Both sides bid the number of turns that they want the game to last if they are the Axis. The team that bids the higher number of turns gets to play as the Axis. The game will automatically end after the US playerâ€s turn on the turn number that won the bid. The team controlling the majority of the VCPs at that time wins the game. Note: This is unlike the major victory conditions or traditional victory city rules in that the winner is not the first side to reach a certain number of VCPs, but the side who maintains control of the majority of the VCPs by a certain turn number agreed upon by both sides. This is intended to better fix the game duration and to allow for quicker games if players are pressured by a time constraint.