Besides liberation, one of the other reasons J1 and SL don’t mix well is that the US can get a fighter and 1+ bombers over to London before G3 easily.� � With the amount of fodder on London the fighter alone will probably take out 2-3 German aircraft.
Usually on a J1 Attack that is against UK/ANZAC and not USA.
This is a key point.
IF Japan J1’s against only UK/ANZAC then USA is still neutral until the start of their production phase, which they can then declare war. This is very important because the USA cannot non combat troops/air power forward into UK territory until they are officially at war…that happens on USA1 during production. Which mean USA units cannot enter UK territories unit USA2 non combat phase.
IF that is the scenario, USA can not arrive in UK until USA3, which will be to late if there is a G3 Sea Lion in effect.
Once again I will stress this point.
Japan/Germany have this tug and pull on the first 2 turns. Japan is the key nation when it comes to Sea Lion and the USA response.
Japan goes J1 and declares war on the USA…Sea Lion is off the table, that is the bottom line. If you are the Germany player you need to dust off that G2 against Russia plan of attack.
*** Foot Note ***
Let me clarify and be clear for new players on this point.
IF japan declares war on the USA on Turn 1. What that means is two fold.
#1 USA can now non combat move into any allied country on both the Euro/Pacific map. USA declares war on the Euro Axis powers at the start of the USA1 production phase.
#2 USA Production ramps up to full war status on USA1.
USA can get 1 FTR and 1 STR bomber into England on USA 2 for the FTR.
USA builds 3 FTRS on USA1.
USA2 3 FTRS fly to Gibraltur.
USA3 3 FTRS are in London.
You have now forced Germany to go into London on a G3 invasion or it is all over.
*** Side note ***
I hope your Japan partner is not a friend because some German players will come unglued on a J1 against USA.
Just letting you know.
:lol: 8-) :-D :evil:
This isn’t a rule I was familiar with. I tried it in TripleA and it’s totally fine with US declaring war US1 after a J1 against UK and Anzac, and in non-combat moving a fighter to iceland. Is this rule not implemented in TripleA?
Regardless most J1s I’ve seen involve taking the Philippines as you have the units, deny a bonus, and benefit from the mobility the naval base grants. But to your point, it’s not required I suppose :)