Combined arms clarification


  • 2018 2017

    Our house group plays 2nd Edition rules.  We have playing under the assumption that for combined arms to be in effect, the two units must originate from the same territory.  However, I was watching a G40 strategy video and the maker was using combined arms even though the units did not originate from the same territory.

    An example would be on G1, Germany used the fighter from Holland and the tactical from West Germany.  Does the tactical benefit from combined arms in this case?

    Obviously(?), a mech infantry must begin its movement in the same territory as a tank to benefit from blitzing, right?

    Are we playing this correctly or not?  :?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Moderator

    Good day NavyMule.
    You have been playing that wrong. For combat, it does not matter from  where the Tac originates. The bonus is added (like your Dutch/ German example).
    As you have said, it only matters for  movement: a Mech must move both spaces with a Tank to Blitz.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @Navymule:

    We have playing under the assumption that for combined arms to be in effect, the two units must originate from the same territory.

    This is correct for pairing a MechInf with a Tank for blitzing, only.

    @rulebook:

    Blitz: A mechanized infantry unit must normally stop when it enters an enemy controlled territory. However, when paired
    one-for-one with a tank, it can make a blitz movement (see “Tanks,” page 27) along with that tank. The movement of both
    units must start and end in the same territories.

    All the other combined arms benefits apply to the Combat phase only. See the blue box on page 18:

    @rulebook:


    Some unit types require one-to-one pairing with
    another unit type and may be paired with more
    than one other unit type. Each unit may be paired
    with only one other unit at the same time, but may
    be paired with different units at different times
    during the same turn. For example, an individual
    artillery unit may not be paired with both an
    infantry and a mechanized infantry during the same
    combat round in the Conduct Combat phase
    in
    order to make both units attack at 2. However, the
    same mechanized infantry unit may be paired with
    a tank during the Combat Move phase in order
    to blitz
    , and then be paired with an artillery in the
    Conduct Combat phase in order to attack at 2.


  • 2018 2017

    Thank you!  That makes such a huge difference for the Axis in the early game.



  • Also you can combine different arms into one big one and it still counts as I have clarified this. Example; Mech Infantry, Artillery, Tank, and Tactical bomber can all be combined for there strengths as long as it still remains a 1:1 ratio. And there is only one defensive combined arms which is destroyer allowing aircraft to target submarines.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @Caesar:

    Also you can combine different arms into one big one and it still counts as I have clarified this. Example; Mech Infantry, Artillery, Tank, and Tactical bomber can all be combined for there strengths as long as it still remains a 1:1 ratio.

    To be clear about this:

    @rulebook:

    Some unit types require one-to-one pairing with another unit type and may be paired with more than one other unit type.
    Each unit may be paired with only one other unit at the same time, but may be paired with different units at different times
    during the same turn.

    For example, an individual artillery unit may not be paired with both an infantry and a mechanized infantry during the same
    combat round in the Conduct Combat phase in order to make both units attack at 2. However, the same mechanized infantry unit may
    be paired with a tank during the Combat Move phase in order to blitz, and then be paired with an artillery in the Conduct Combat phase
    in order to attack at 2.

    @Caesar:

    And there is only one defensive combined arms which is destroyer allowing aircraft to target submarines.

    No. The combination is always valid, regardless of attacking or defending.



  • I mean the destroyer + aircraft rule isn’t exclusive to attack as combined arms likes to make it seem.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

59
Online

14.9k
Users

35.6k
Topics

1.5m
Posts