• TripleA is currently not working with the new forums.
  • Old uploads have been fixed.
Check out all the items on the migration to do list.

GW 1936 Clarifications



  • I have this all nicely formatted in a g-doc so lets see what happens when I post it here.

    1)Capitals
    1a) Does Nationalist China have a Capital? There is a ‘star’ in Beijing, which is a Warlord until the modifiers are met that turn Shanxi into the KMT.
    1b) If the Japanese capture it, do they get Nationalist Bank?
    1c) When the CCP Territory is captured, does the Capturer take its Bank?

    2)Aircraft vs Submarines
    2a) Do all Aircraft ‘Spot’ Submarines?
    2b) Does the presence of Aircraft in combat prevent Submarines from submerging?
    2c) Are lone Submarines (no friendly surface ships) insta-killed by Aircraft (CAP or Carried-based Aircraft)?

    3)Combat Air Patrol
    3a) How exactly does Combat Air Patrol Work?
    3b) Does the presence of CAP instigate combat with fleet/submarine moving into its Sea Zone?
    3c) How does CAP work with Convoy raiding? Logic suggests you do not Convoy Raid a Sea Zone with CAP.
    Is there a limit to how many aircraft are on CAP in one zone (IE. One Ship on Patrol in each Sea Zone)


  • 2017

    @PanzerPenguin:

    I have this all nicely formatted in a g-doc so lets see what happens when I post it here.

    1)Capitals
    1a) Does Nationalist China have a Capital? There is a ‘star’ in Beijing, which is a Warlord until the modifiers are met that turn Shanxi into the KMT.
    1b) If the Japanese capture it, do they get Nationalist Bank?
    1c) When the CCP Territory is captured, does the Capturer take its Bank?

    Due to KMT or CCP surrender conditions requiring total elimination of the faction. We have assumed they dont have a capital and lose their money only with the loss of all their land and units. Until they are able to build a major factory and at that time select a capital where the major factory will be placed. This will then be the capital of China for either surviving faction and become possible to sack its money from here.

    2)Aircraft vs Submarines
    2a) Do all Aircraft �Spot� Submarines?
    2b) Does the presence of Aircraft in combat prevent Submarines from submerging?
    2c) Are lone Submarines (no friendly surface ships) insta-killed by Aircraft (CAP or Carried-based Aircraft)?

    I have the same question, wording is poor in rules.

    3)Combat Air Patrol
    3a) How exactly does Combat Air Patrol Work?
    3b) Does the presence of CAP instigate combat with fleet/submarine moving into its Sea Zone?
    3c) How does CAP work with Convoy raiding? Logic suggests you do not Convoy Raid a Sea Zone with CAP.
    Is there a limit to how many aircraft are on CAP in one zone (IE. One Ship on Patrol in each Sea Zone)

    I have the same question, wording is poor in rules.

    Ive been considering asking these questions of the group myself. Thanks for asking hope we get some answers. Even if they are different from each others.



  • If you ask these questions on the Global War FAQ at globalwargame.com, you can get an official answer and rule wording clarification from the game designer.  Sometimes it takes a bit for a response, but I can get a hold of him to let him know your question is waiting.

    As far China setting up a capital, I don’t remember and will have to loom it up.  I do know that “national banks” aren’t captured by the conqueror.  Will check on the other questions and get back with you.



  • Well after reading page 37, 42, 55, & 56; I have the same questions.

    I think the biggest difference is they introduce combat declination for subs and CAPs.
    But
    2a) I think the answer is no, only CAP and Carrier based Aircraft.
    2c) I think no, but it really depends on the answer to 2b.

    3a) My paraphrase of a CAP is a prolonged scramble with a few more abilities, minus the airbase requirement.
    3b) No, it the CAP may instigate or decline, unless the navy has a carrier. But the CAP stops subs movement through the sz.
    3c) I think to your point, it depends on the answer to 2b. I would think the escort rules would govern how many you can have  defending a convoy line.

    But I could be wrong on all of what I said. Lol



  • And that is where all my confusion is! No one seems to know the answers as the rules really aren’t clear at all on such matters!

    The CAP on Convoy Duty (it is listed as a Escort Modifier) confounds me based on the logic.



  • HBG-Doug Staff answered 2 years ago

    CLARIFICATION: The submarine can be attacked for one round by an aircraft on combat air patrol.  Then it can submerge.   The aircraft provides a +2 roll against convoy raiding attempts… Â


  • 2017

    http://www.globalwargame.com/www/question/please-explain-combat-air-patrol-in-more-detail/

    Good idea whitsadw!
    This explains it mostly for the rest of the question. From FAQ.

    If I read this correctly CAP only applies to naval attack/defense by aircraft. Simulating the air gap. Will definitely change how we use aircraft to attack naval ships.  And can be used instead of scramble for naval defense if no airbase is available.



  • I just go off that very last statement that Doug use’s as his " final summarization of the definition" you know? to basically sum it up. But yeah I am also interested in the v.3 rules to see if anything can get any clear but until then I feel as this does it nicely I agree.



  • Re: 1b) If the Japanese capture it, do they get Nationalist Bank?

    Conquering capitals in Global War does not give the attacker the defenders IPP. This has been clarified by the designer on the FAQ site.



  • Ok, so from my understanding of it, CAP is:

    A way to engage an enemy fleet (Submarines included) moving through a Sea-Zone that you currently do not occupy with a Friendly fleet.

    Based on the CAP movement requirements, this then allows you to scramble other Aircraft into the fight.

    It also rolls if any submarines in its zone attempt Convoy Raiding.

    –-

    Aircraft force 1 round of combat with Submarines, who can then choose to submerge for the rest of combat if they survive round 1.


    Conquered Capitals do not transfer their Bank to the Conqueror.


    If those are the ‘answers’, then I think I understand it all better!



  • Yes and if also if an aircraft carrier is in the battle then the sub can not submerge. and it is also a modifier on a whatever line it is on Cap. so for example If you have a destroyer on Escort duty in the line off Gibraltar. Which would give those lines a +1 but off England you have a plane on Cap which charges whatever lines bisect the Convoy raiding lines. So for example that line from Gibraltar to England would have a + 3 modifier, the line from Canada to England would have a + 2 modifier etc etc. you can only have 1 unit on convoy escort duty per zone, but if there are a lot of zones you can obvious increase the modifier. Ill have to find that link as well.



  • Hi hi, I imagine many of these questions where already answered. I’m very busy in my personal and work life so this thread is largely unread to me, I perused briefly the messages and gathered at least a few answers have been teased forth.  I thought I would weigh in even though I am late to the show.

    Cheers

    @PanzerPenguin:

    I have this all nicely formatted in a g-doc so lets see what happens when I post it here.
    1)Capitals
    1a) Does Nationalist China have a Capital? There is a ‘star’ in Beijing, which is a Warlord until the modifiers are met that turn Shanxi into the KMT.
    1b) If the Japanese capture it, do they get Nationalist Bank?
    1c) When the CCP Territory is captured, does the Capturer take its Bank?

    1a) China does not have as a minor Nation. Once it achieves the status of Major Nation, Beijing becomes the Capital, and functions as other Capitals do to other nations.
    1b) Unlike in G40, it is impossible to capture bank in GW36.
    1c) Unlike in G40, it is impossible to capture bank in GW36.

    2)Aircraft vs Submarines
    2a) Do all Aircraft �Spot� Submarines?
    2b) Does the presence of Aircraft in combat prevent Submarines from submerging?
    2c) Are lone Submarines (no friendly surface ships) insta-killed by Aircraft (CAP or Carried-based Aircraft)?

    2a) Yes. If an airplane is capable of CAP, it can spot submarines.
    2b) I believe someone has answered this question.
    2c) If the CAP spots the sub, rolls and misses, the Submarine can then submerge.

    3)Combat Air Patrol
    3a) How exactly does Combat Air Patrol Work?
    3b) Does the presence of CAP instigate combat with fleet/submarine moving into its Sea Zone?
    3c) How does CAP work with Convoy raiding? Logic suggests you do not Convoy Raid a Sea Zone with CAP.
    Is there a limit to how many aircraft are on CAP in one zone (IE. One Ship on Patrol in each Sea Zone)

    3a) Ho dang,
    3b) Yes indeed it does. I believe it also would trigger a scramble from any adjacent Airbase.
    3c) CAP cannot Convoy Raid only Convoy Escort. Any number of aircraft can be placed in CAP in one Sea Zone (on one CAP token), but the benefits to Convoy Escort is only once (from the CAP token). Even if unstated, I imagine that that is reasonable gameplay logic behind the design of both CAP and Convoy Escort.



  • Thanks.

    One final question - Does Belgium touch Lorraine? IE can you attack Lorraine from Belgium. We’re split on this as and can’t really tell based on the map.



  • @PanzerPenguin:

    Thanks.

    One final question - Does Belgium touch Lorraine? IE can you attack Lorraine from Belgium. We’re split on this as and can’t really tell based on the map.

    That’s completely fine, you can ask as many questions as you can think of.

    In other cases where similar map issues have come up, such as on the border between France and Spain, or in a few sea zones in the pacific, the ruling has always been: no, they are not connected.
    By offsetting most sea zones or territories slightly one from another, they avoid this problem, and we see them do so in nearly all sea zones, so when the issue does come up, it is by design.

    Belgium is not connected to Lorraine.
    I have seen some games house rule that since Luxembourg is so small, they play it is part of Belgium, thereby making it accessible to Lorraine.



  • A heated debate in my group regarding the Commonwealth…

    Can ANZAC send lend-lease to KMT via Hong Kong once Japan invades China?

    On a side note, can the US (or other countries) also send lend-lease to KMT through Hong Kong when Japan is at war with China (but no one else)?



  • So I am not sure what map you guys have but I have a star on Nanking and not Beijing. I have been playing it where China loses its money once Nanking is taken. After seeing a few of the replies here I will probably change how I play that…



  • @PanzerPenguin:

    Can ANZAC send lend-lease to KMT via Hong Kong once Japan invades China?
    On a side note, can the US (or other countries) also send lend-lease to KMT through Hong Kong when Japan is at war with China (but no one else)?

    As there is a railroad that leads from Hong Kong to Guangxi, why not?
    It is the same as the Burma Road that leads to Yunnan.

    Note that ANZAC is considered a part of the UK, so only one (UK, FEC or ANZAC) can lend lease per turn#



  • @KingKuba:

    So I am not sure what map you guys have but I have a star on Nanking and not Beijing. I have been playing it where China loses its money once Nanking is taken. After seeing a few of the replies here I will probably change how I play that…

    Nowhere in the manual does it say that a nation loses its money once the capitol is taken.
    The designer has clarified this elsewhere.



  • @KingKuba:

    So I am not sure what map you guys have but I have a star on Nanking and not Beijing. I have been playing it where China loses its money once Nanking is taken. After seeing a few of the replies here I will probably change how I play that…

    I don’t have the map in front of me. It could be in either territory, I don’t recall. Regardless, it’s functioning as a capital is only when it is a major power. 😊



  • @PanzerPenguin:

    A heated debate in my group regarding the Commonwealth…

    Can ANZAC send lend-lease to KMT via Hong Kong once Japan invades China?

    On a side note, can the US (or other countries) also send lend-lease to KMT through Hong Kong when Japan is at war with China (but no one else)?

    After extensive searching, I think the answer is no to both questions.

    Page 71 of the rules, FEC, “…you are the only lifeline China has to the Outside World…you control both Burma and Hong Kong…slip the Chinese a little money to ensure their survival.”



  • Because FEC and ANZAC are Military Divisions of Great Britain (Forming the Commonwealth) and share Technology and Lend/Lease Restrictions, we have determined that they can Lend/Lease through Hong Kong. Otherwise, the three would be split and not share Tech/Restrictions etc.

    We are undecided on USA lendlease through Hong Kong. However, it clearly states that Germany/Italy can lend-lease through France to Spain (if France allows it) so why can this not apply to USA to KMT via Hong Kong? It meets the factory-to-port/port-to-port/rail-to-territory requirement?

    The only instance I have determined where you take a country’s bank is when Paris surrenders to the Germans :

    “Free France: The French player creates Free France by
    moving the capital as detailed on the French National Reference
    Sheet. All IPP currently in possession of the French player are
    surrendered to the Axis.”



  • To Munck, rule 9.20 on page 48 I believe says that, “A nation that loses its capital loses all of its saved IPPs (even if it does not technically surrender). Some nations can set up a second capital.” For sure you do not give your IPPs to the conquering nation except in the case of Germany forcing France to surrender, you just lose the IPPs to the bank once your capital is taken.



  • ï‚· Burma Road: The Burma road opens on July 1938 if Japan and China are at war and Yunnan is in Possession of the Allies.  The Burma Road may be used as a way to deliver foreign lend-lease material to the KMT once KMT is at war with a major power.  The lend lease arrives in Yunnan.  China may use its own money to purchase artillery and antiaircraft.  These must be placed in Yunnan.  This part that say’s " The lend lease arrives in Yunnan" means that any and all lend lease is and has to arrive in Yunnan. These are specific rules to China’s KMT and any regular game rules on lend lease do not apply because these rules are only specific to  China’s KMT . Doesn’t matter that Hong Kong is closer etc etc.



  • @Whitshadw:

     Burma Road: The Burma road opens on July 1938 if Japan and China are at war and Yunnan is in Possession of the Allies.   The Burma Road may be used as a way to deliver foreign lend-lease material to the KMT once KMT is at war with a major power.  The lend lease arrives in Yunnan.   China may use its own money to purchase artillery and antiaircraft.  These must be placed in Yunnan.  This part that say’s " The lend lease arrives in Yunnan" means that any and all lend lease is and has to arrive in Yunnan. These are specific rules to China’s KMT and any regular game rules on lend lease do not apply because these rules are only specific to  China’s KMT . Doesn’t matter that Hong Kong is closer etc etc.

    The part you refer to is only if using The Burma Road to deliver Lend Lease. You may also use any other mean available to deliver Lend Lease to KMT.



  • I am referring to prior to the Burma Road opening, with Hong Kong being the only available port for Lend Lease to be sent to the KMT (the actual KMT ports having been taken by the Japanese).


 

2018 Support Drive

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games

20
Online

12.4k
Users

32.5k
Topics

1.2m
Posts