Young Grasshopper's G40 House Rules



  • YOUNG GRASSHOPPER’S G40 TOURNAMENT RULES

    Alpha card deck - G40 gaming accessory:
    https://www.mediafire.com/file/1u0pm7ornkayel7/cards.zip

    Delta card deck - G40 house rules:
    https://www.mediafire.com/file/36ay3cvwh3n8h7n/Delta Deck Combined 21up.pdf

    Victory Objectives & Tokens: New Victory Condition Rule

    Once a victory objective has been achieved, a victory token will be awarded, the side with the most victory tokens at the end of a full game day is the winner. Victory tokens are awarded immediately upon completion regardless of when, or how the objective was achieved. Victory tokens may never be awarded twice for the same objective, and they may never be taken away once earned. It does not matter which round the game ends, as long as the last game round was completed.

    Here is a list of all victory objectives for each side…

    Axis Powers

    London -The Axis control London
    (FOW) *The nation that takes control
    Moscow -The Axis control Moscow
    (FOW) *The nation that takes control
    Sydney
    -The Axis control Sydney
    (FOW) *The nation that takes control
    Asia
    -The Axis control Shanghai, Hong Kong, Malaya, and Calcutta
    (FOW) *Japan

    Africa
    -The Axis control Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Tobruk, Alexandria, and Egypt.
    (FOW) *The nation that controls the most
    Europe
    -The Axis control 7 victory cities on the Europe map
    _(FOW) *The nation that controls the most

    Pacific
    -The Axis control 14 of the 16 Pacific Islands originally controlled by America and Japan
    (FOW) *Japan

    Supremacy
    -There are no American Capital ships on the board
    (FOW) *Japan

    Economy
    -All 3 Axis powers have a combined total of 142 IPCs on the income tracker (NOs not included)
    (FOW) *The nation that is earning the most
    Allied Powers

    Berlin
    -The Allies control Berlin
    (FOW) *The nation that takes control
    Tokyo
    -The Allies control Tokyo
    (FOW) *The nation that takes control
    Rome
    -The Allies control Rome
    (FOW) *The nation that takes control

    Asia
    -The Allies control all territories connecting the Burma road as well as Hong Kong and Shanghai
    (FOW) *The United Kingdom

    Africa -The Allies control all non-neutral territories on the continent of Africa
    (FOW) *The nation that controls the most
    Europe
    -The Soviet Union controls 6 original Axis territories
    (FOW) *The Soviet Union
    Pacific
    -The Allies control 14 of the 16 Pacific Islands originally controlled by America and Japan
    (FOW) *The United States

    Supremacy
    -There are no Japanese Capital ships on the board
    (FOW) *The United States

    Paris
    -The Allies have liberated Paris
    (FOW) *The nation that liberates it

    Fortunes of War: New Research & Development Rule

    Research rolls are no longer used to develop breakthroughs, instead, a system called “Fortunes of War” will award nations a free development roll each time a victory objective has been achieved. Once a victory token is gained, the nation with the corresponding (*) instructions listed with each objective will choose a breakthrough chart, and make a free “Fortunes of War” roll. The resulting breakthrough from this roll will take effect immediately once their turn has completely ended. Any breakthroughs gained by the UK regardless of which side of the map a token was achieved will effect all UK purchases and all UK units on the board.

    Modifications to oob breakthroughs are in red italics, Paratroopers have been replaced with Super Carrier Decks, and breakthroughs among the 2 charts have been re-positioned for balance.

    Breakthrough Chart #1

    Heavy Artillery
    All artillery now support up to 2 attacking infantry and/or mech infantry each

    Rockets
    Each operational airbase may launch a rocket at an enemy facility up to 4 spaces away, roll 2 dice per rocket and apply the highest result for damage.

    Jet Fighters
    All fighters now attack at 4 or less, and defend at 2 or less when escorting or intercepting.

    Long-Range Aircraft
    Maximum movement range for all air units is now increased by 1.

    War Bonds
    During the collect income phase, roll 2 dice and collect IPCs in the amount shown on the highest roll. (For UK war bonds, Calcutta will gain IPCs from the lowest roll, London will gain IPCs from the highest roll).

    Blitz Tactics
    Mech infantry now attack at 2 or less if paired with a tank as well as artillery, they may blitz without tanks, and they may tow 1 artillery unit each during the non-combat movement phase.
    Breakthrough Chart #2

    Super Submarines
    All submarines now attack at 3 or less.

    Anti-Aircraft Radar
    All ainti-aircraft fire from AA artillery, or AA guns built into facilities now defend at 2 or less.

    Improved Shipyards
    Battleships, Aircraft Carriers, and Cruisers are now 3 IPCs cheaper, and Destroyers, Submarines, and transports are now 1 IPC cheaper.

    Mass Production
    The mobilization capacity of all production facilities has been increased by 2. Also, you may remove 2 damage markers for the price of 1.

    Super Carrier Decks
    All aircraft carriers may now carry up to 3 fighters and/or tactical bombers each.

    Heavy Bombers
    When attacking during a battle or a SBR, roll 2 dice for each strategic bomber and select the best result.

    Bonus Income: New & Modified National Objectives

    Axis National Objectives

    Germany (in addition to all original NOs)
    -5 IPCs if an Axis power controls London

    Japan (in addition to all original NOs)
    -5 IPCs if Japan controls all original Chinese territories

    Allied National Objectives

    Soviet Union (2 NOs which will replace the original National Prestige NO)
    -5 IPCs if there are no Axis warships in sea zone #125, and the Allies control Archangel as well as London
    -5 IPCs if there are no Allied units on any original Russian territories

    United States (in addition to all original NOs)
    -5 IPCs if the United States are at war with the Axis powers

    UK Europe (in addition to all original NOs)
    -2 IPC’s if there are no Axis warships in all sea zones from 101 to 111
    -2 IPC’s if there are no Axis warships in all sea zones from 116 to 124
    -2 IPC’s if there are no Axis warships in all sea zones from 90 to 99

    ANZAC (in addition to all original NOs)
    -3 IPCs if the Allies control Cairo (when at war with Germany and Italy)

    Stage Cards: New Turn Sequence Method

    Each player must use the designated Stage Cards during their turn sequence in order to announce which phase they are conducting at any given time. Players entering a turn sequence must first place their Stage #1 card in front of them, they will than place their Mobilization Card to the right of their Stage #1 card.

    Once a player has conducted their chosen steps in Stage #1 (including the purchasing of new units which must be placed on the mobilization card), that player will then flip the Stage #1 card and enter Stage #2. Once the Stage #2 card has been revealed, any actions or decisions required during Stage #1 may not be conducted.

    New units from the mobilization card are placed on the board as per the last step of Stage #2, at which point the mobilization card is flipped and placed over the Stage #2 card revealing that the player has now entered Stage #3. In Stage #3 players must collect income, have convoys disrupted, and roll for any developments gained during this turn._


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    Thanks for posting that. I was wondering what they were.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    YG for your Break though tech chart #1 for ROCKETS is an airbase gets a shot at a facility 4 spaces away. So no AAA gun involved with this correct ?
    Your just using a built in AAA gun in base correct ?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    Am also assuming your MASS PRODUCTION tech doesn’t over favor the allies ?
    In the Pacific ?


  • 2017 2016 2015 '14 '12

    To eliminate any misinterpretation, should the word “entire” be in the Asia one?

    The Axis/Allies control the entire Burma road as well as Hong Kong and Shanghai

    Also, does the the Russia one include just the originally axis territories on mainland Europe, or does it also include originally pro-axis territories, islands, and axis territories outside Europe (e.g. middle east, Africa, Korea)?  Just want to clarify because this is similar to the NO


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    @variance:

    To eliminate any misinterpretation, should the word “entire” be in the Asia one?

    The Axis/Allies control the entire Burma road as well as Hong Kong and Shanghai

    I like the new Russia one

    “Entire” means all of the allies only. Pacific side pertains to Anzac, India.

    Yes any extra things for Russia is always welcomed ! And all.  😄

    I may use this rule in my tech tree or event cards in my game.


  • 2017 2016 2015 '14 '12

    I was thinking entire as in all of the territories through which the Burma road passes; not ‘control of the road’ in the sense that the road may be closed by the axis holding just 1 of the territories.

    Would like to see some language on the Russia one.  Same deal as the NO or different?



  • @SS:

    YG for your Break though tech chart #1 for ROCKETS is an airbase gets a shot at a facility 4 spaces away. So no AAA gun involved with this correct ?
    Your just using a built in AAA gun in base correct ?

    Correct, no AAA required… It’s 1 rocket from each operational airbase.



  • @SS:

    Am also assuming your MASS PRODUCTION tech doesn’t over favor the allies ?
    In the Pacific ?

    No, in fact it’s most useful for Japan if they build minor ICs in Asia because they produce 5 each.



  • @variance:

    To eliminate any misinterpretation, should the word “entire” be in the Asia one?

    The term “Burma Road” has always ment all the territories that connect it… I don’t see any misunderstanding.



  • @variance:

    Also, does the the Russia one include just the originally axis territories on mainland Europe, or does it also include originally pro-axis territories, islands, and axis territories outside Europe (e.g. middle east, Africa, Korea)?  Just want to clarify because this is similar to the NO

    “6 original Axis territories”

    • does not include pro-neutrals
    • can be any Axis original anywhere on the map
    • it is different than the “Spread of Communism” NO
    • Islands would count as long as it’s an Axis original territory
    • they must be controlled by Russia, not by the Allies as a whole

  • 2017 2016 2015 '14 '12

    great. thanks!



  • For the UK submarine NO, what sea zones does the Atlantic include? I just want to make sure. I think it’s a good rule, you can’t simply put a sub in the med or in the white sea. plus I like to build subs with germany anyways 🙂



  • @Genghis:

    For the UK submarine NO, what sea zones does the Atlantic include? I just want to make sure. I think it’s a good rule, you can’t simply put a sub in the med or in the white sea. plus I like to build subs with germany anyways 🙂

    Hey Buddy, great to hear from ya… really enjoyed meeting you at the event… I’ve cleared up the language on this revised UK NO, hope it helps.

    UK Europe (in addition to all original NOs)

    • 5 IPC’s if there are no enemy submarines in the Atlantic, (This area consists of all szs west of and including szs 70 and 91, it also includes all szs west of the Norwegian Straits except for szs 112, 125, 126 and 127).


  • @Young:

    @variance:

    To eliminate any misinterpretation, should the word “entire” be in the Asia one?

    The term “Burma Road” has always ment all the territories that connect it… I don’t see any misunderstanding.

    I agree that the language is a little confusing more for the Axis Objective than the Allies.
    For the Allies to have the road open, they must control the entire road.
    But for the Axis to close the road they only need to control one territory within the road.
    One might argue that for the Axis, that because holding one territory changes the status of the road for the Allies and closes the entire road, they control the road.

    New players don’t know what things have always meant. With having a lesser experienced gaming group, I know there would be discuss at my table with the current language.

    That’s why I would favor adding “entire road” to the objective even if it was in parentheses.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13

    YG  what is the starting Axis total income ? 66 ? and how did you arrive to 142 icp total for axis to get a token. To get this token axis pretty much control 2/3 territories ?



  • @Wildcat6305:

    @Young:

    @variance:

    To eliminate any misinterpretation, should the word “entire” be in the Asia one?

    The term “Burma Road” has always ment all the territories that connect it… I don’t see any misunderstanding.

    I agree that the language is a little confusing more for the Axis Objective than the Allies.
    For the Allies to have the road open, they must control the entire road.
    But for the Axis to close the road they only need to control one territory within the road.
    One might argue that for the Axis, that because holding one territory changes the status of the road for the Allies and closes the entire road, they control the road.

    New players don’t know what things have always meant. With having a lesser experienced gaming group, I know there would be discuss at my table with the current language.

    That’s why I would favor adding “entire road” to the objective even if it was in parentheses.

    Understood… so I revised both VOs to read as follows…

    Asia
    -The Axis control all territories connecting the Burma road as well as Hong Kong and Shanghai
    (FOW) *Japan

    Asia
    -The Allies control all territories connecting the Burma road as well as Hong Kong and Shanghai
    (FOW) *The United Kingdom


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    I concur with Wildcat6305 that it would be clearer for YG’s Victory Objectives to distinguish between the Allied and Axis objectives pertaining to the Burma Road, because they’re different objectives.  The Allied objective is to control the Burma Road, by holding all of it; the Axis objective is to cut off (or block or interdict or shut down) the Burma Road, by holding one or more of the territories it traverses.

    The Allies are the only ones who get any economic benefit from controlling the Burma Road, and in order to do so they need to control all of it.  As the OOB rules say, “When all of the territories this road passes through are controlled by the Allies during China’s Collect Income phase, China receives a bonus income of 6 IPCs per turn” and “Allied powers must control India, Burma, Yunnan, and Szechwan for this to occur.”

    It’s clear from the OOB rules that the Axis powers only have to occupy one of those territories to knock the Burma Road out of action, and thus that they don’t need to “control” all of it to achieve their aim of denying income to China.  Saying that the Axis needs to “Axis control all territories connecting the Burma Road” contradicts what the OOB rules say.  Moreover, the Axis gains no income from the Burma Road even if it “controls” all of it, so from this perspective too it’s potentially misleading to give the Axis a goal of “controlling” the Burma Road.



  • @SS:

    YG  what is the starting Axis total income ? 66 ? and how did you arrive to 142 icp total for axis to get a token. To get this token axis pretty much control 2/3 territories ?

    Hey SS,

    Starting Axis income is 30 (Germany) + 26 (Japan) + 10 (Italy) = 66 IPCs

    How I came to the 142 mark is by adding up all the IPC values of every territory that has an IPC value, and half of that is 142. Therefore, if the Axis controls half of all available territory values… than they get a token.



  • @CWO:

    It’s clear from the OOB rules that the Axis powers only have to occupy one of those territories to knock the Burma Road out of action, and thus that they don’t need to “control” all of it to achieve their aim of denying income to China.

    Yes, That is oob rules… however, with my token achievement system, the Axis must control all territories connecting the Burma road as well as Shanghai and Hong Kong.



  • @Young:

    @CWO:

    It’s clear from the OOB rules that the Axis powers only have to occupy one of those territories to knock the Burma Road out of action, and thus that they don’t need to “control” all of it to achieve their aim of denying income to China.

    Yes, That is oob rules… however, with my token achievement system, the Axis must control all territories connecting the Burma road as well as Shanghai and Hong Kong.

    I think the main difference is YG’s requirement is for a Victory Objective, not a National Objective. So there needs to be a higher bar. A NO would merely be close the road, but the VO needs to be control all the territories. That keeps the intergrity in the system, because in the European theater it is being slugged out for N. Africa, so you need an equally challenging VO in the Pacific. (Not the those are the only two VOs in the system, just easy examples)



  • AXIS “ASIA” TOKEN HAS BEEN MODIFIED!
    Asia
    -The Axis control Hong Kong, Shanghai, Malaya, and Calcutta
    (FOW) *Japan



  • In our group, we are testing a modification to the ANZAC national objective to require Cairo AND Malaya while at war with Germany and Italy to get 5 IPCs. This way if Japan wants to declare war early, they have the option to deny two bonuses by taking Malaya, but they also have to take philippines to deny the american bonus. So they have to choose. They can’t do everything: money islands, philippines, malaya, yunnan etc. If they don’t declare war early, then Anzac will be able to build up better for the inevitable declaration later on.

    In the tournament we consistently had over 40 IPCs with anzac with not enough complexes to build units. I find if America gets an extra 5 and they bring everything they have against Japan PLUS anzac consistently gets over 30 in income, it might be too much for the allies.



  • @Genghis:

    In our group, we are testing a modification to the ANZAC national objective to require Cairo AND Malaya while at war with Germany and Italy to get 5 IPCs. This way if Japan wants to declare war early, they have the option to deny two bonuses by taking Malaya, but they also have to take philippines to deny the american bonus. So they have to choose. They can’t do everything: money islands, philippines, malaya, yunnan etc. If they don’t declare war early, then Anzac will be able to build up better for the inevitable declaration later on.

    In the tournament we consistently had over 40 IPCs with anzac with not enough complexes to build units. I find if America gets an extra 5 and they bring everything they have against Japan PLUS anzac consistently gets over 30 in income, it might be too much for the allies.

    Couldn’t you just buy a minor IC for Queensland?



  • yes I could have done that. Could have also upgraded the IC in sydney. You can also just buy strategic bombers and a transport and pick off lone japanese transports and take back islands.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 3
  • 23
  • 7
  • 5
  • 27
  • 1
  • 1
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

47
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts