I understand that there was a need to rule on this. I get that if a powers capital is captured that you didn’t want them to be able to purchase units or make repairs to facilities because they have no IPCs. Ships however don’t require IPCs for repair so IMHO I don’t think ship repairs should have been included in the capture capital rules. To me how ship repairs are handled in this situation seems a little off.
OK London is captured by the axis (Calcutta still belongs to UK) so UK ships on the Euro side can’t be repaired at UK ports on the Euro map because they are part of the London econ. However those same ports can make repairs on US ships (or other allied ships). I just simply don’t see why those same ports have the men, tools and parts to fix US ships, but can’t repair their own UK ships. It’s like saying if London is captured the Gibraltar port allows US ships to move +1, but UK ships don’t get the movement bonus. Either the port is operational or it isn’t.
I also feel the same if Washington was captured that US ships can’t be repaired in other US ports, but UK ships could? So the Yorktown (US) and Victorious (UK) are both at Hawaii. The Victorious (which was on loan to the USA BTW) is repaired no problem. Sorry guys we’re going to have to scrap the Yorktown because maritime law prohibits us to make repairs to our own ships.
I think it would have been much cleaner to simply allow any functional port to make free repairs. There would be no need to go into captured capitals etc……and would be far less confusing IMO.
Yeah, the other alternative is to just drop the price of the BB to allow a 1IPC charge to be compensated for.
There is a different reason to ban the purchase and repair phase for powers without a capital - if they sack someone else’s capital they shouldn’t be able to spend the money without a capital. Although if they can’t place units or repair facilities, perhaps that’s enough.
What I mean is this rule seems to say that there is no repair on the Pacific side if Calcutta is lost, and none on the Europe side if London is lost:
Purchase and Repair
Each of United Kingdom Europe and Pacific makes its own separate purchases and repairs.
Why am I reading it wrongly?
Is it just the remarks above that vary what is the apparent meaning of the rules?
There is no repair in the UK Pacific economy if Calcutta is lost and no repair in the UK Europe economy if London is lost. This is not the same as the Pacific map or the Europe map. The UK Pacific economy is defined in the rules as “all of the territories controlled by United Kingdom on the Pacific map”, and the UK Europe economy is defined in the rules as “all of the territories controlled by United Kingdom on the Europe map” (italics are mine). (Of course, there are a few exceptions regarding individual territories, as specified in the rules.) Territories controlled by other Allied powers are part of neither economy, and that’s why repairs are allowed there if either UK capital is free.
I’m a bit confused by all this. You are saying that units belonging to the UK on the Pacific map aren’t part of the UK_Pacific economy. The ownership of the territory (sea zone) that a battleship is in seems to be a bit irrelevant.
Anyway, I’m clear on the official rules. We aren’t going to progress from that.