Spanish civil war- may/must???- Global war 1936



  • It is says: One side may claim victory when all opposing forces have been eliminated from the
    six Spanish peninsula land zones (not including overseas islands and colonies).

    Does this mean that nationalists do not have to declare victory if they do not want to or nationalists automatically win as soon as there are no more Republicans regardless of whether they want or not? (there are still Republicans territory)

    Example: The Republican intentionally make suicide attack to lose all units before the German attack on Russia and theirs aligning of Nationalists and Republicans. So Spain become Nationalists and they will Align with Germany at the
    end of combat phase if the Axis have possession of either London or both Gibraltar and the Suez Canal.


  • Sponsor 2017 '13 '11 '10

    It is says: One side may claim victory when all opposing forces have been eliminated from the
    six Spanish peninsula land zones (not including overseas islands and colonies).

    Does this mean that nationalists do not have to declare victory if they do not want to or nationalists automatically win as soon as there are no more Republicans regardless of whether they want or not? (there are still Republicans territory)

    Good question, and I think a better intepretation of the rule is that the Spanish Civil War ends at this point, there is no “option” to claim as the word “may” seems to indicate.

    Example: The Republican intentionally make suicide attack to lose all units before the German attack on Russia and theirs aligning of Nationalists and Republicans. So Spain become Nationalists and they will Align with Germany at the
    end of combat phase if the Axis have possession of either London or both Gibraltar and the Suez Canal. One strategy I have seen is the Germans stall the war out so that both sides Align and as soon s they do the Germans whack Gibraltar from Spain.  Certainly viable although later in the game Spain is the first place hit by the US or Britain.

    @Veldin:

    It is says: One side may claim victory when all opposing forces have been eliminated from the
    six Spanish peninsula land zones (not including overseas islands and colonies).

    Does this mean that nationalists do not have to declare victory if they do not want to or nationalists automatically win as soon as there are no more Republicans regardless of whether they want or not? (there are still Republicans territory)

    Example: The Republican intentionally make suicide attack to lose all units before the German attack on Russia and theirs aligning of Nationalists and Republicans. So Spain become Nationalists and they will Align with Germany at the
    end of combat phase if the Axis have possession of either London or both Gibraltar and the Suez Canal.



  • @HBG:

    It is says: One side may claim victory when all opposing forces have been eliminated from the
    six Spanish peninsula land zones (not including overseas islands and colonies).

    Does this mean that nationalists do not have to declare victory if they do not want to or nationalists automatically win as soon as there are no more Republicans regardless of whether they want or not? (there are still Republicans territory)

    Good question, and I think a better intepretation of the rule is that the Spanish Civil War ends at this point, there is no �option� to claim as the word �may� seems to indicate.

    Example: The Republican intentionally make suicide attack to lose all units before the German attack on Russia and theirs aligning of Nationalists and Republicans. So Spain become Nationalists and they will Align with Germany at the
    end of combat phase if the Axis have possession of either London or both Gibraltar and the Suez Canal. One strategy I have seen is the Germans stall the war out so that both sides Align and as soon s they do the Germans whack Gibraltar from Spain.   Certainly viable although later in the game Spain is the first place hit by the US or Britain.

    @Veldin:

    It is says: One side may claim victory when all opposing forces have been eliminated from the
    six Spanish peninsula land zones (not including overseas islands and colonies).

    Does this mean that nationalists do not have to declare victory if they do not want to or nationalists automatically win as soon as there are no more Republicans regardless of whether they want or not? (there are still Republicans territory)

    Example: The Republican intentionally make suicide attack to lose all units before the German attack on Russia and theirs aligning of Nationalists and Republicans. So Spain become Nationalists and they will Align with Germany at the
    end of combat phase if the Axis have possession of either London or both Gibraltar and the Suez Canal.

    Thank you.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 7
  • 73
  • 17
  • 6
  • 11
  • 7
  • 5
I Will Never Grow Up Games

33
Online

13.4k
Users

33.8k
Topics

1.3m
Posts