Does a carrier autokill a transport?



  • Having a debate with another player, he has moved an empty carrier into a SZ where I have a transport to claim an autokill. However, because a carrier has no attack value, combat cannot occur, right? Therefore the empty carrier alone cannot kill my transport?


  • 2018 2017 '16

    You are correct. A carrier can’t hit any unit on attack, only on defence.


  • 2018 2017

    Keep in mind that this is dependent on whether the carrier has an attack power or not, which in different versions of AxA it may (42.2 = 14/1/2/2, one hit point).  The carrier attacks at zero in Global (only?).


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    I posted this question a few years ago under the title “Ramming speed”.  But alas… my proposal was rejected!


  • 2018 2017 '16

    @taamvan:

    Keep in mind that this is dependent on whether the carrier has an attack power or not, which in different versions of AxA it may (42.2 = 14/1/2/2, one hit point).   The carrier attacks at zero in Global (only?).

    The question was posed in the Global 1940 forum so I assume that’s what he was playing.


  • 2018 2017

    Roger, just wanted to remind that G40 ruleset is the exception here, to all other versions IIRC.



  • @Gargantua:

    I posted this question a few years ago under the title “Ramming speed”.   But alas… my proposal was rejected!

    Lol sure, but that also sinks the carrier, so you can trade 1 carrier for 1 transport 🙂

    But the defenseless transports rule isnt really a seperate rule just an optimization. You can remove the rule and nothing changes at all ( you get to roll more dice )
    Just keep in mind why the rule is there and you can easy answer every question about the rule.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 5
  • 6
  • 29
  • 16
  • 6
  • 2
  • 9
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

37
Online

14.0k
Users

34.3k
Topics

1.4m
Posts