I realize how big the Pacific is and how large the sea zones are. I’m not navigating the high seas I’m playing Axis and Allies. If I’m the American player and you are the Japanese player and you move your fleet to Hawaii I can see that perfectly. Chances are that I’m not going to buy your excuse that you had way too much ham and you’re just stopping into Honolulu to pick up some pineapple on your way to China with fully loaded transports. There’s no way that you can spin this to make it acceptable. It’s a goofy rule plain and simple. Larry crapped the bed on this one.
The rule is pretty normal, it allows japan to move around but not to sucker punch the US out of the war immediately.
You dont have to buy excuses the fleet is there and it is a legal spot so deal with it, if your afraid it will attack you use blockers thats what destroyers are for.
The same with a UK destroyer with the whole japanese fleet will not allow the transports to load. Sure 1 destroyer vs what 3 carriers 2 BB 2 cruisers and a handfull of destroyers. Yes the transport captains will be really really scared of that lone destroyer.