No. However you can on an ally’s turn. Although I can’t see where that is in the rules?
Increased Sea Unit Range: All ships beginning their movement from a sea zone serviced by an operative friendly naval base
gain 1 additional point of movement range. Sea units in this position can move 3 spaces instead of 2.
You already answered that in your quote.
On your allies turn the ships do start their movement @ a friendly naval base.
though the rules would be a lot clearer if they would state ,
“All ships that at the start of your turn are in a sea zone that was serviced by an operative friendly naval base get 3 extra range”.
Page 18 of the Euro rule book and page 16 of the Pacific rule book
My interp. of this is 1 sub, 1 carr with 2 planes. the sub gets a hit what happens …… the carr is tipped and the planes are in the air if the sub does not fire a second shot then the planes need to land within their movement allowance. If you had 2 subs and they both hit then the carr would go down I would say the planes would get away because subs cant hit air units
Those two pages answer the Q’s for me
The movement allowance is only one when defending. The planes would need to land on an adjacent island, coastal tt, or friendly carrier w/room on board.
That’s true, and slipped my mind. But this would effectively stop the invasion, which I believe it should. I know the rule is the rule I just think its goofy that a sub would be ignored by something that couldn’t attack it. CV’s have changed so much during all the incarnations of A&A and it seems will continue to, having no attack value is silly but giving them Capitol ship status would make them too powerfull if they had attack powers or too expensive. Any way, again, thanks for the clarification, I would have played it differently and not even have thought to ask. And again, no disrespect Gamerman, I just don’t like the rule is all.