Curious about a rule



  • When say Germany attacks the British Transport and Destroyer in Sea Zone 106 with 1 Submarine, and both hit on the same turn, why does the UK lose its Transport as well? The escorting Destroyer did its job. The Transport should survive. Why does it not?



  • @Leatherneckinlv:

    When say Germany attacks the British Transport and Destroyer in Sea Zone 106 with 1 Submarine, and both hit on the same turn, why does the UK lose its Transport as well? The escorting Destroyer did its job. The Transport should survive. Why does it not?

    The transport should survive, who says it doesn’t? (I hope it wasn’t me… lol).



  • If on the first round of combat both the destroyer and sub roll a hit then both of them are sunk and the transport lives. However unless the sub rolls a hit and the destroyer misses then both the destroyer and the transport are sunk and the sub lives. If the sub misses and the destroyer rolls a hit then only the sub is sunk. I hope that clarifies you question.



  • Lol…I have argued this point since 2009…that it should…I have heard a few reasons as to why not…Surprise attack being the key reason


  • 2016

    @Leatherneckinlv:

    Lol…I have argued this point since 2009…that it should…I have heard a few reasons as to why not…Surprise attack being the key reason

    You should tell your m8s you play with that the Transport is still a unit itself and that the Sub is only striking one target per round.
    The only reason transports are removed from the board when they’re by themselves in defensive combat is because rolling for each hit would be pointless since they’d all die anyway.

    To further put out that the Transport is still by all means a combat unit in the game and not just some thing to take land units across the sea: If you tried to amphibiously invade an area with just transports and no supporting ships and the enemy has an airbase with fighters who then scrambled… Your transports wouldn’t immediately sink. Since the transports are on the offense, the enemy defenders might miss and you will have a chance to retreat if they do. And if you were invading with 4 transports, you’ll at least have the comfort of at least having 1 of them guaranteed to survive. Unless you were throwing away the game and didnt retreat. lol.


  • 2018 2017 2016

    There is no such thing as surprise attack when the defender has a destroyer. If it were a cruiser then yes it would sink the cruiser without getting hit back and then the sub would sink the transport.



  • This was a rule that was added because of the Axis advantage in earlier games being able to bridge. From Italy to Africa and Japan to Korea, the axis had great advantage with that plus a defense of 1 so I assume transports at 0 forces the axis powers to actually commit a naval defense.



  • @Caesar:

    This was a rule that was added because of the Axis advantage in earlier games being able to bridge. From Italy to Africa and Japan to Korea, the axis had great advantage with that plus a defense of 1 so I assume transports at 0 forces the axis powers to actually commit a naval defense.

    Actualy no it isnt added for that reason, the allies had an advantage in the other versions of A&A.
    It was made because of realism, before you had 1 BB and 6 transports and the transports where taking hits. This was rather stupid so to up the realism they added the new transport rules.

    The defenceless transport rule can be ommited from the game without any strategical implications. Basicaly you keep rolling until all transports are gone.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 10
  • 22
  • 4
  • 10
  • 3
  • 5
  • 8
I Will Never Grow Up Games

41
Online

13.5k
Users

33.8k
Topics

1.3m
Posts