One of the other stickies in this forum is the actual FAQ thread, titled “Axis and Allies 1914 FAQ/Question and Answer Thread”. However, you are correct in that there are contradictions (including the one you brought up) in this thread. The Russian Revolution rules used to be a lot different before they were rehauled in the official errata, and those previous FAQ questions and answers still reside here. It would be nice if this thread were to get cleaned up, but Jim010 hasn’t been on in almost two months, so I don’t know if he still pays attention to this thread.
What I can tell, though, is that all the information summarized before the Q&A begins is accurate. The Q&A in the first 6 posts was made before the Russian Revolution changes, so only trust answers to RR questions from the 7th post on. If I’m still wrong on that, the stuff in red in the first post of this thread is for sure correct; anything contradicting it is wrong.
Adding write-up of procedure we use…
Divided into 2 parts, territory is either Original or Non-Original.
The Revolution can occur at the end of any Russian turn starting with turn 4.
At that time an Armistice is offered FROM the new Soviet Russia power TO the Central Powers.
The offer is NOT optional and is a ONE time offer, that is accepted or rejected. IF ACCEPTED…
No further battle against Russian units is permitted. Travel into territories with ONLY Russian units is forbidden.
Non-Original Russian Territories and Sea Zones (including Serbia and Romania)
1. Remove all Russian units.
2. Remove all Russian sea units.
3. Remove all Russian control tokens, plus, as applies after step 1, if territory is…
No further action.
b. Other AP or CP powers only…
Captured territories goes to remaining power, or if multiple, their choice.
Original territories, control goes to original power. Exception: If original AP
power’s capital is captured, then control goes to other AP power (if any).
c. No units of any power…
Original territories, control goes to original power.
All other territories are uncontrolled.
Original Russian Territories
1. Remove all Russian units, except leave 1 infantry unit where units exist.
2. Establish territory control…
a. Controlled by a CP power…
The territory remains in that CP power’s control. The CP power will continue
to collect IPC income. Treat these same as any other neutral territory. These
can never become Russian territories again.
b. Contested, but only with non-Russian powers…
1. Add 1 Russian infantry unit.
2. Follow step c.
Territory remains contested for remainder of game. However the CP player
is allowed movement through the territory if it maintains a garrison. AP players
cannot enter these territories. Plus see step e. ** If CP leaves, it cannot re-enter.**
d. Occupied with other AP power(s) only…
1. Add 1 Russian infantry unit.
2. Follow step e.
e. Shared with other AP power(s) (with or without CP powers)… AP player must leave Russia by end of their next move once the revolution
has occurred or they will be removed from the board. No battle is allowed in
these territories. Contested movement restriction (pg 15) does not apply.
f. Controlled by Russians only…
1. Add 1 Russian infantry in none exists. Entry by AP/CP powers is forbidden.
Munich is 2 territories away from Venice, so you wouldn’t be able to move in until Round 2. If you’re playing with the tournament rules, then that is allowed, and Germany would take control of the territory since they made the attack that killed the last defenders. You only have a choice when you have multiple defending powers that kill all the attacking units.
Krieghung, thanks for the quick response. That poor Russian battleship in SZ12 has to thread the needle through SZ11 and SZ10 even if there are no ships there and I guess once the UK Navy is gone in SZ29, you just need to start ground pounding your way through Ottoman to get into the fight.