Recently a guy sacked Washington DC against me when playing Global 40 on triplea. I never saw it coming…I reacted wrong of course…who would try to go after DC first? As Japanese fleets were approaching I thought I could defend the US west coast while he faked a Sea Lion build which in turn forced me to stack a lot of stuff on London. By the time I realized Washington was the target (German ships at Gibraltar G2) and Japanese ships and transports approaching on the other side, it was too late for me to buy enough ground. Washington got sacked by Japan who came through Panama after sinking the US pacific fleet and landing on Western US. He was able to easily get western US because most mechs and planes had to move to Washington. He did a double landing, Germany, then Japan who got it the first time. Italy landed on Mexico on I3, to create a landing spot for German planes. Washington was liberated by Canadian forces…but as US major I factories were being turned into minors…and the US wasn’t collecting much money…it was only a matter of time before the US was finally sacked by Germany the 2nd time. Russia was close to capturing Berlin…but not in time…so Germany would have gotten to build just in time after getting Washington and fill up both factories with 10 tanks each. When this happened to me…I was surprised. Yes I was beaten and I thought, well, this is definitely a one trick pony. Something just seemed wrong. How could Japan get that close to the US and the US not have a “gamism” rule where if the felt threatened once Japanese fleets were within a certain distance, the US could declare war. Heck an actual Japanese sub was sunk trying to sneak into Pearl Harbor before the US and Japan were technically at war (Japan was, but the US wasn’t) in real life. But there is a rule…
He moved all Japanese warships within range on the J1 turn 2 spaces away from the US mainland and Alaska. According to a guy credited with being a game tester of this actual game, that’s not legal.
“When not yet at war with the United States, in addition to the normal restrictions (see â€œPowers Not at War with One Another,â€ page 15), Japan may not end the movement of its sea units within 2 sea zones of the United Statesâ€ mainland territories (Western United States and Alaska).” Page 37 in the Global section of the Pacific Rule book and of course also page 15.
One of his fleets was in sea zone 15, another was in sea zone 26 (Hawaii) and another was in sea zone 29 (Line Islands). Sea zones 15 and 26 were within 2 spaces of US mainland and or Alaska.
This means Japan cannot park a Navy in the same sea zone as Hawaii when not at war. I read people saying that Japan can park a Navy in sea zone 26 all time here on the forum. It’s a wrong interpretation.
Anyone out there disagree with me?