• Hello everyone.  I am new to the forum side of axisandallies.org  I have been inspired to begin painting my A&A pieces.  I used to build scale model aircraft, but I haven’t touched a brush in a couple of years.

My question to ya’ll (yes, I am a proud Texan) is about the differences between acrylic and enamel paint.  Is one superbly better than the other?  I have a lot of enamel paint for scale models and have never used acrylic before.

Any advice for using enamel?  (I will at least be experimenting with it because I already have a lot of “military” tones)

Thanks for the help and advice!

• '18 '17 '16 '15 Customizer

Andy6049, you obviously have painted before, so I don’t think you will have trouble with either one.

I have no experience with enamel, but some of the members, on here, do have experience with it, and I’m sure will give you some pointers.

The main thing difference they have told me, is that acrylic is more forgiving, if you mess up.

I’m also a proud Texan! :-D

Welcome to the forums. :-)

P.S. Myself and Spitfire38 use acrylic. R DiStefano uses enamel. I can’t remember who else uses enamel, but I think IWillNeverGrowUp has experience with enamel as well.

I hope some of these guys can help you.

• In my experience enamel tends to go on thicker so you will lose some detail, but one coat will usually do it. Cleanup is a little harder. Acrylic tends to take more coats but preserves detail better and doesn’t smell as bad.

• @Der:

In my experience enamel tends to go on thicker so you will lose some detail, but one coat will usually do it. Cleanup is a little harder. Acrylic tends to take more coats but preserves detail better and doesn’t smell as bad.

Acrylic dries faster
    Acrylic dries matte (generally) instead of the typical gloss of enamel
    Acrylic comes in many more colors
    Acrylic colors blend easily
    Acrylic can be used with a “dry brush” method to add highlights (I have never managed to do this properly with enamel)