Clarification of amphibious assault rule



  • In a scenario where the sea combat of an amphibious assault has failed (preventing any land units being offloaded from the attacking transports) the rules state that ‘any other units that were designated to participate in the land attack (including air units) must still conduct one round of land combat in a regular attack on the intended hostile territory before they can retreat.’ Does this mean that the other designated units can continue attacking for as many turns as they want or do the rules mean that they are only allowed to conduct one round of combat before they MUST retreat?

    In my game I am currently playing I am doing an amphibious assault on Hawaii and obviously no overland units can participate in this battle since it is an island, so the only land units I could send to attack where by transport. However because I lost the sea combat my transports couldn’t land so the only thing I have left attacking Hawaii are air units. As we play the game that no air combat can take place unless at least one attacking ground unit is involved surely it follows that all attacking air units MUST retreat once the first round of combat is completed i.e. they can’t continue attacking on their own for as many rounds of combat as they want. This is because A) All naval units have already retreated so surely the air units must retreat with them and B) because if not this makes mockery of the amphibious assault rule as the attacking player can exploit this situation to destroy all defending units despite the fact that the main amphibious assault itself has failed and no land units are attacking. If the naval units retreat surely the air units committed to the land battle MUST also retreat after one round of combat.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    Welcome to the forum, Benny1940!

    @Benny1940:

    In a scenario where the sea combat of an amphibious assault has failed (preventing any land units being offloaded from the attacking transports) the rules state that ‘any other units that were designated to participate in the land attack (including air units) must still conduct one round of land combat in a regular attack on the intended hostile territory before they can retreat.’ Does this mean that the other designated units can continue attacking for as many turns as they want or do the rules mean that they are only allowed to conduct one round of combat before they MUST retreat?

    No reason to doubt what is written clearly in the rules. They must conduct one round of land combat before they can retreat.  They can continue fighting of course.

    @Benny1940:

    In my game I am currently playing I am doing an amphibious assault on Hawaii and obviously no overland units can participate in this battle since it is an island, so the only land units I could send to attack where by transport. However because I lost the sea combat my transports couldn’t land so the only thing I have left attacking Hawaii are air units. As we play the game that no air combat can take place unless at least one attacking ground unit is involved surely it follows that all attacking air units MUST retreat once the first round of combat is completed i.e. they can’t continue attacking on their own for as many rounds of combat as they want. This is because A) All naval units have already retreated so surely the air units must retreat with them and B) because if not this makes mockery of the amphibious assault rule as the attacking player can exploit this situation to destroy all defending units despite the fact that the main amphibious assault itself has failed and no land units are attacking. If the naval units retreat surely the air units committed to the land battle MUST also retreat after one round of combat.

    This is not covered by the rules. Of course you can house rule whatever you want.
    I am not sure whether you are only describing your house rules in this paragraph or if you have misunderstood some rules and have further rules questions.
    So please ask back …

    HTH 🙂



  • You are trying to read rules that are not there.

    You can attack any land area with all/any units that can get there. There is no rule that prevent air units from attacking on their own. They just cannot capture zones.

    So yes you are allowed to destroy all defending units with your airforce and then you have to fly away in non combat because you cannot land there.

    Losing the naval combat might result in not being able to land the planes if you intended to land on carriers next to hawai in your case.



  • using air only to kill stuff (landuints) is a very old method, and sometimes a good idea. It is certainly not an exploit tho.

    I have seen the luftwaffe attack egypt alone, doing enough damage, so that the italians can take it after.


  • 2018 2017

    “As we play the game that no air combat can take place unless at least one attacking ground unit is involved”

    How do you blow up stranded bombers?  doesn’t it make perfect sense that the lone landed bomber defending at 1 should be strafed apart by attacking planes?  Except for integrating interceptions into SBR, there is no defined “air combat” air units function largely just like land units except with different move restrictions.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 5
  • 13
  • 6
  • 13
  • 4
  • 3
  • 4
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

33
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts