Questions reg JP-> UK/Anzac US->JP DOW, Scrambling, Transport, Sub Strike



  • Hi All,

    Got a few questions and clarifications for Global Axis&Allies 2nd edition.  I got some answers to my questions by searching the forums but these are the ones that are still outstanding.

    1. Starting the game Japan is only at war with China and UK/Anzac is at war with Germany and Italy.  The Dutch East Indies are a UK/Anzac protectorate.  
      If Japan invades the Dutch east Indies the UK/Anzac will be at war with Japan.  Since a previous war between Japan and UK/Anzac did not exist, the invasion of the Dutch East Indies would be a unprovoked declaration of war from Japan to UK/Anzac.  Does that mean the US can then declare war on Japan and also Germany and Italy due to the above mentioned scenario?
      This is a quote from the rule books:

    “The United States may not declare war on any Axis power unless an Axis power either declares war
    on it first or captures London or any territory in North America, or Japan makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the UK or ANZAC, after which it may declare war on any or all Axis powers on its following turn”

    1. Scrambling question, here are quotes from the rule book:

    “Scrambled fighters and tactical bombers are defending, so refer to their defense values and abilities when resolving combat. They are treated as normal defending units in their sea zones. As defenders, they may not retreat. They can�t participate in any other battles during that turn, including a battle in the territory from which they were scrambled.”

    So if I am understanding the above correctly if a plane takes part in the scramble combat they cannot take part in the land combat if the attacker wins the scramble combat and then proceeds with an amphibious assault.  Makes sense.

    The issue I encountered at a game was the phrasing of �during that turn�.  Several players interpreted that to mean the entire game round from Germany being first to Anzac being last.
    For instance if Germany does an amphibious invasion of London and London scrambles their planes and wins the combat, then when its UK�s turn they would be unable to use the planes in their combat round.  Took 30 minutes of arguing/discussing and re-reading rules but I think the interpretation of �during that turn� refers to the turn of the country (ie Germany, UK, etc�) and not the whole game round (where Germany goes first and Anzac is last)

    1. The same situation would apply to bombing raids and fighters protecting the raid.

    "Any number of defending fighters based in a territory that is about to be strategically and/or tactically bombed can be committed to participate in the defense of that territory�s facilities as interceptors, whether or not there are attacking fighter escorts. The number of defending fighters that will intercept is decided by the owning player(s) after the attacker�s Combat Move phase is completed and before the Conduct Combat phase begins. These fighters cannot participate in other battles during that turn, including a battle in the territory in which the bombing raid is occurring. They must remain in their original territory after the
    battle. If that territory is captured, they can move 1 space to land in a friendly territory or on a friendly aircraft carrier. This movement occurs during the Noncombat Move phase, before the acting player makes any noncombat movements. If no such landing space is available, the fighters are lost."�

    I interpret the �turn� to be just that turn and not the whole game round.  Is that right?

    4a) If Japan uses their kamikaze strike tokens and gets 2 hits on a fully loaded carrier do the planes on the carrier survive to take part in a sea combat if there is one or do they go down with the carrier as cargo?
    4b) Second part to the above question if the carrier gets hit and there is sea battle and planes survive without the carriers what happens to the plans after combat if anything? Ie do they get the 1 movement to a friendly territory if they survive or do they get their full movement when its that players official turn?

    1. An amphibious assault is declared and sea combat takes place beforehand.  During the sea battle all offensive/defensive units except for attacker and defender transports are destroyed, what happens?  Is the sea zone considered non-hostile now since transports cannot attack and the attacker can proceed with their amphibious assault?  Or due to the sea zone not being cleared, there is still an enemy transport left, and because it�s a contested sea zone the attacker cannot proceed with the amphibious assault?

    2. And my last question is regarding subs during sea combat.  Here is the rule quote:

    “Step 2. Submarine Surprise Strike or Submerge (Sea Battles Only) This step is specific to attacking and defending submarines. Before the general sea battle takes place (steps 3�5), both attacking and defending submarines can choose to either make a Surprise Strike die roll or submerge. A player may choose to submerge all, some, or none of his or her submarines. However, if the opposing side has a destroyer in the battle, the attacking or defending submarines can�t submerge or make a Surprise Strike. Combat proceeds normally with your submarines firing along with your other units in step 3 or 4. Attacking or defending submarines that choose to submerge are immediately removed from the battle strip and returned to the game board in the contested sea zone, removing them from the remaining battle sequences. Note: Decisions on whether attacking and defending submarines will fire or submerge must be made before any dice are rolled by either side. The attacking player decides first. Each attacking submarine conducting a Surprise Strike rolls one die. Attacking submarines that roll a �2� or less score a hit. After the attacking player has rolled for all attacking submarines, the defender chooses 1 sea unit (submarines can�t hit air units) for each hit scored and moves it behind the casualty strip. (Note: undamaged capital ships that are hit only once are not removed.) Then each defending submarine conducting a Surprise Strike rolls one die. Defending  submarines that roll a �1� score a hit. After the defending player has rolled for all defending submarines, the attacker chooses 1 sea unit for each hit scored and removes it from play. (Note: undamaged capital ships that are hit only once are not removed.) Note: In both cases, attacking or defending, transports can be chosen as casualties only if there are no other eligible units. Submerged submarines can�t be chosen as casualties since they have been removed from the battle. Once all attacking and defending submarines that conducted a Surprise Strike have fired, the casualties they have generated are removed from the game and this step (step 2) is over for this round of combat. As long as there are attacking and/or defending submarines and no opposing destroyers, this step is repeated during each round of combat. Any hits made  during this step that don�t destroy units (such as battleships and carriers) remain in effect until they are  repaired.”

    So a sea battle where there are no destroyers present so subs can do their first strike.  Attacker and defender hits are allocated.  The way I interpret the rule is that the casualties from the sub strike get taken off immediately and do not get a chance to return fire.  Is that right or wrong?

    Thanks for answering my questions.  I found quite a few rule clarifications but couldn�t find the ones listed above or at least a decisive ruling.

    -RexDrax


  • 2018 2017 2016 2015

    1. yes, US can declare war on Japan and Germany and Italy.

    2. you are correct. The fighters can no longer participate in that turn, not the entire round.

    3. same as 2 above.

    4a) Depends on who the planes belong to. In combat, planes always fly into a battle with the exception of friendly planes that would just come along for the ride as cargo (because multi-national forces cannot attack). So in the case of planes and an AC belonging to the same power attacking on their turn, the AC would sink but the planes are considered in the air. But in the case of multi-national cargo, they would go down with the AC

    4b) Since planes on attack fly into battle, they would have however many movement points left. So if a fighter flies from an AC and flies two spaces to the combat, on non-combat they would have two movement points left.

    1. transports can be ignored and don’t by themselves make a sea zone hostile or prevent amphibious landings. In your scenario, with all of the defending units killed other than transports, the amphibious assault could proceed.

    2. You are correct. Remember that battleships and ACs that are hit only once are damaged and so they can still return fire.



  • Looks like freh beat me to it, but……

    1. Yes, the Japanese invading the Dutch territory would also allow the US to enter the war at the beginning of the next US turn. The y can DOW all the axis powers.

    2&3) You are correct it means for the powers turn, not the entire round.

    1. During your combat move phase your planes have to fly off the carriers and move to the sz that you are attacking (you can’t move your carriers then lift you planes). Then you can either bring your carriers into the battle, or wait until the non combat move phase to pick them up. If your carrier goes into battle with an allies plane then it would be considered cargo.

    4b) Your attaching planes would get the remainder of their movement to find a safe landing place if your carrier is damaged or sunk.

    1. Funny a similar question just came up on a different thread.

    Taken from page 18 of the Euro rule book (2nd edition). Under step 3 land combat first paragraph

    “If there was no sea battle, or the sea zone has been cleared of all defending enemy units except transports and submarines that submerged during the sea battle, and the attacker still has land units committed to the coastal territory, move all attacking and defending units to the battle strip and conduct combat……”

    1. Yes a surprise strike could kill a ship (like a cruiser, and it wouldn’t return fire), but keep in mind some ships take 2 hits to kill (carriers and battleships).

    Hope this helps, happy gaming.



  • Also remember that all Surprise strikes are simultanious.

    So if the attacker and defender both have subs your defending subs can shoot back even if they where chosen as casulaties in the surpise round.

    As defender this is a smart option as the subs have already defended so you dont lose any dice.



  • Thanks for answering my questions.  Cant wait for the game this weekend.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 8
  • 8
  • 13
  • 3
  • 3
  • 8
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

34
Online

13.7k
Users

34.0k
Topics

1.3m
Posts