• Hi All,

So I’m completely new to A&A, but a huge WWII buff. Dad wouldn’t buy me the game when I was little because it was too expensive as far as board games go, but now I’m a grown man and I just bought my first A&A 1942 Second Edition (arriving TODAY  grin) and I wanted to get into painting the miniatures. I’ve painted some plastic ME-109s and Spitfires models as a kid, but never painted miniatures. I was just wondering…

-Do I paint over the plastic pieces that come with the game?

-What if I mess up? Do I just wash the paint off and start over?

-What is the purpose of buying the expansion miniatures?

-Are expansion miniatures already painted?

-Can expansion miniatures be used to play my 1942 2nd ed?

Game questions:

-Is it difficult to learn?

-How long does a came last on average?

-How does A&A compare to say, the hexagonal war games of the 70s and 80s?

Sorry for all the noob questions. Just wondering. I have a friend who’s also never played, but we’re going to do this. I WILL CRUSH HIM.

• You’ll find many detailed and valuable discussion threads on painting over here…

http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?board=75.0
    http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?board=75.20

…where you can check the “Subject” column for titles that include “paint” or “painting”.

• Thanks!

• By “expansion miniatures”, I assume you mean unofficial supplementary sculpts sold by companies such as HBG (http://www.historicalboardgaming.com/Battle-Pieces-By-Country_c_14.html).

Neither these unofficial supplementary sculpts nor the “OOB” (“out-of-the-box”) sculpts that come in the official games are painted; they’re simply colour-coded by being cast in different colours of plastic.  Some people (like me) actually like these plastic colours and leave the pieces unmodified.  Other people paint them, sometimes to a staggering degree of fine detail.  The choice is entirely up to you.