Why not ask if you need a transport to cross the Tasman sea. Heck, people can swim the English Channel so therefore no transport should be required, right?
Fair dinkum. This has got to be one of the weirdest A&A questions I’ve heard.
Many times I have played the game, and simply not had enough fleet to cover all my transports, my question is about whether or not you can kill these defenseless transports, these are the scenarios in question:
1: 2 loaded transports attacked by a fighter, will it just sink them?
2: Attack enemy fleet containing transports, when fleet is defeated do transports die, or do they live, and can you assign them to hits like defending AAA?
1. If the transports are on their on, then they are sunk by the fighter, yes.
2. When the defending fleet is defeated, the transports die with it. However, if you are attacking with subs and the defender has lost all of his warships, but still has planes left, then the transports can be taken as casualties for the sub hits while the rest of the forces fight it out.
The defenseless transport rule is there to prevent rolling needlessly.
A defender cannot retreat.
A transport ship does not shoot back.
A transport cannot be taken as casualty unless it is the only vallid target ( sub vs planes + transport for example )
Once the defending transports get in the situation that they are not defended or the enemy only has units that can hit the transports that cannot be hit themself you can just remove them and end the combat.
Or you could keep rolling untill all transports are dead which is just a waste of time really. Eventually even if you roll 1 die you will get unlimited amount of hits if you have unlimited rolls.
Thanks that’s sorta what I thought