Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Question about invading Sicily/Sardinia with a Russian infantry



  • In the game that I’m currently playing, I’m considering loading a Russian infantry onto a British transport so that it can later invade Sicily.  My question is, can Italy scramble to block this amphibious assault?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    Yes, Italy can. This scenario is covered by the FAQ:

    @Official:

    Q. Say the United Kingdom launches an amphibious assault from a US transport without any
    supporting UK sea or air units in the sea zone, and then Japan scrambles. What happens?
    A. In effect, nothing happens. The US transport doesn’t participate in the sea battle because it’s not the
    US’s turn. Since there are no attacking sea or air units, there is no sea battle. However, the sea zone
    can’t be cleared of defending combat units, so the amphibious assault can’t proceed.


  • 2015

    My question would be is there really absolutely nothing better that infantry could be doing for the two turns it takes to invade Sicily? It won’t “pay off” until two turns after that, even, and you’re not really harming Italy at all by doing it, unless you, for some reason, are going to use it for an invasion-of-Italy staging point and want to spend Russian IPCs on facilities instead of US’s/UK’s?

    And that’s saying nothing about the turn, or potentially two, you’re tying up the British transport.


  • 2018 2017

    Its pretty true.  In practice, the troops march from hell and back, and end up being better used to protect (at least block) Iraq or Persia from some late game attacks in your soft underbelly.

    Last time someone tried this (Maphead, in Game 102 against Roby), he had taken literally every other land unit off the board from UK to support the Greece/Balkans invasion.  The invasion was awesomely successful, but there was literally NOTHING left to block some late game Axis insertions into that area because of 2 dumb Russian pieces that were trying to take napoleons birthplace.

    Since its a late game play that takes at least 7 turns to do, it cant recoup much. fun idea though



  • Russia would get 3 IPCs for each island per turn, both islands would be 6 ipcs so the two inf will pay for themselves once they land (to buy more inf in Moscow). Plus you don’t have to leave them there the rest of the game, you could just dedicate that Brit tpt for another couple turns to get the Reds back to the main land lol.

    If Moscow is taken then it has no value at all.



  • @teslas:

    My question would be is there really absolutely nothing better that infantry could be doing for the two turns it takes to invade Sicily? It won’t “pay off” until two turns after that, even, and you’re not really harming Italy at all by doing it, unless you, for some reason, are going to use it for an invasion-of-Italy staging point and want to spend Russian IPCs on facilities instead of US’s/UK’s?

    And that’s saying nothing about the turn, or potentially two, you’re tying up the British transport.

    It’s a moot point since Italy can easily block the move.  However, in the particular game that I was playing, Germany attacked on turn 2, I had a Russian mech activate Persia on that turn, loaded up 1 infantry from Persia on round 3, so hypothetically that infantry could have landed on Sicily on turn 5.  My games usually go to turn 9-10, so I saw it as a valid potential move.



  • Question, if the allies take Rome, then the Reds take Sicily they would still get the 3 IPC NO right.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    @WILD:

    Question, if the allies take Rome, then the Reds take Sicily they would still get the 3 IPC NO right.

    Correct, as the original controller of Sicily is Italy.



  • Thanks P@nther



  • Ok so a Russian invasion of the Italian islands using a Brit tpt is highly unlikely, as long as there are axis planes in Rome, and the air base is operational (it really can’t happen because of scramble).

    There are only a couple scenarios I can think of that it might happen.

    1. Rome falls to the allies, and they decide to allow the Russians to spread communism.
    2. The Italians still hold Rome, but are convoyed to no income, and the allies have bombed the air base (Italy can’t repair base).
    3. There was a Sea lion, the Russians have managed to invaded the Balkans and have their own air power with in range of sz 95 to deter or fight the scramble. At that point the Russians could also already have Romania, Bulgaria and Albania (and others) for the NO as well (things not looking to good for Euro axis).

  • 2018 2017


    Or:
    4) An ANZAC-Bomber was visiting that airbase.



  • @hecatomb:


    Or:
    4) An ANZAC-Bomber was visiting that airbase.

    Awesome, never thought about that. That would be one cool bid 🙂

    (could also bid 1 french bomber, for the lols 🙂 )


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games

60
Online

12.9k
Users

33.1k
Topics

1.3m
Posts