as i could not find - even using the forum-search - any answer, maybe someone here in this board can help me in a maybe-not-so-tricky situation.
i play axis and got under attack in europe, in detail: germany.
as the us-player goes first and strikes in germany (he has denmark) to SZ 113 he takes with him 2 destroyer, 1 cruiser and some transports which he unloads in germany. except one guy going to poland.
i have three fighters in w.germany which could scramble, but i did not choose to.
the attack got fought off, well, britain goes next all in. some guys, 4 fighters, 4 tac, 1 bomber. into SZ 113 with the transports go 2 destroyers.
here is the question: when i now choose to scramble into SZ 113 i only scramble against the british attack, right? which means the american navy cannot interfere in this sea-battle? in this situation it is britain conducting the assault, and britain only? even the us navy is present it is off the battle board?
the rulebook is not absolute clear about it, as i understand it.
“A quick reaction team of no more than 3 defending
fighters and/or tactical bombers (strategic bombers can�t
scramble) located on each island or coastal territory
that has an operative air base can be scrambled to
defend against attacks in the sea zones adjacent to those
territories. These air units can be scrambled to help
friendly units in adjacent sea zones that have come under
attack. They can also be scrambled to resist amphibious
assaults from adjacent sea zones, whether or not the
territory being assaulted is the territory containing the
air base. They may defend against the enemy ships
conducting the amphibious assault even if friendly ships
are not present.”
thx in advance