• I am still relatively new to this game, with only a few games under my belt, and I am looking to expand my strategical thinking a lot. But I thought it might be a good idea to check here first to see if there are any flaws to this strategy before trying it in my next game and potentially ruining thr game for my fellow Axis player

I was thinking of buying an airbase in Holland G1, because I noticed a tendancy to land aircraft there after the 110/111SZ battles. Usually after the 110 battle I would have a damaged battleship sitting there, which ends up hit by a UK fighter and destroyer. However with the airbase there I could scramble many planes in to defend it, causing the UK player to think twice about attacking the battleship. If you took Normandy G1 this could also mean your battleship gets repaired, keeping your navy in an even more annoying position for the UK to deal with.

Anything that could hinder this strategy I haven’t thought of?

• '19 '17 '16

You’re talking about spending 15IPC to save a 20IPC unit which you wouldn’t replace. That’s the problem with that idea. If you want to save the BB, use it to attack SZ111 and retreat back to SZ112 where it will be repaired and also protected by the airbase in West Germany.

• Yea, what he said, set up the sz111 battle so you don’t kill Brit navy in one round (hopefully leaving UK with just a damaged BB). Then you retreat your damaged BB back to sz112 where you have air cover (probably moving your cruiser/tpt there in noncombat, and maybe having built a dd or carrier for sz112). Careful not to go to heavy on the sz111 battle because you don’t want to kill the Brit navy in one round (stranding your damaged BB in sz111), but can’t go to light either because they can scramble the ftr.