Carrier rule question from new player



  • I was just wondering if it is allowed to send more than two planes to a battle in a seazone when only one carrier could be there at the end of turn. The motivation would be that some of the aircraft would die in the battle and each individual aircraft can land on the carrier. Did not find an answer in the rulebook but probably didn’t look thoroughly enough.


  • '14 Customizer

    They must have a place to land.  You can purchase a carrier though and then fly a plane into battle that could then land on the newly purchased carrier.



  • Thank you for the quick reply.

    Did seem against the spirit of the rules.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @Zarito:

    I was just wondering if it is allowed to send more than two planes to a battle in a seazone when only one carrier could be there at the end of turn. The motivation would be that some of the aircraft would die in the battle and each individual aircraft can land on the carrier. Did not find an answer in the rulebook but probably didn’t look thoroughly enough.

    Look here:

    @rulebook:

    Air Units

    You cannot deliberately send air units into combat situations that place them out of range of a place to land afterward. In the
    Combat Move phase, prior to rolling any battles, you must be able to demonstrate some possible way (however remote the
    possibility is) for all your attacking air units to land safely that turn
    . This could include a combination of combat moves. It
    could also include noncombat moves by a carrier or the mobilization of a new carrier.

    In order to demonstrate that an air unit might have a safe landing zone, you may assume that all of your attacking rolls will
    be hits, and all defending rolls will be misses. You may NOT, however, use a planned retreat of any carrier to demonstrate
    a possible safe landing zone for any fighter or tactical bomber. Once possible landing spaces for all attacking air units have
    been demonstrated, you have no obligation to guarantee those landing zones for air units in the course of battle. For example,
    aircraft carriers may freely retreat or be taken as casualties, even if doing so leaves air units with no place to land after
    combat (such air units will be destroyed at the end of the Noncombat Move phase). However, during noncombat movement
    and new unit mobilization, you must provide for safe landing of as many air units as possible after all combats are resolved.

    HTH 🙂


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 4
  • 10
  • 26
  • 11
  • 10
  • 6
  • 15
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

53
Online

14.8k
Users

35.4k
Topics

1.4m
Posts