Confused about Neutrals



  • I will give a specific example. I know an ally has to move into Greece during non-combat with a land unit. Just curious, can it be an AAA unit?

    Also, continuing with the Greece example, I am confused on what happens when Italy attacks it and fails. Rulebook says it immediately becomes part of the alliance it is friendly to. Allies pick which of its countries will be used when converting their standing army. But a control marker is placed face down.

    Question is can any unit now move into it now? Like an aircraft? Or does it still have to be a land unit?

    Oddly enough this has happened a lot recently. Poor Italians….


  • 2020 2018 2017

    “as a noncombat move by land units of a power
    that is at war”

    since the AAA gun is a land unit, I don’t see why not.  Nothing under AAA says that it is limited during the noncom.

    Ok, if the Axis attacks and fails, the territory does indeed belong “to the Allies” and to a certain power you choose (Russia, UK etc.).

    But, you cannot independently attack with those units, load them on transports, or get the income, until you have “liberated” the territory by placing a friendly allied land unit there.

    Example;
    Italy attacks Yugoslavia.  All the Italian units retreat or die after the first round of combat.  They get no casualties or hits.  Place a face down UK marker and 5 UK infantry there.

    Now, the twist is that you CAN land airplanes there (after it has been unsuccessfully attacked by the Axis), as just as the DEI territories, they always friendly.  However, you cannot assert control with air units.  So, you can never place markers, take income, etc until a land unit has visited that territory.

    Only after “taking” the territory during noncoms can you flip the control marker, add the income, and begin controlling the infantry (next turn).

    This will happen very rarely.

    The exception is Mongolia.  If Japan activates war by attacking a Russian held territory adjacent to Mongolian held territory, you place the control markers and the infantry.  They are imm. under the control of Russia and can move or attack starting on its next turn.  You can blitz through the empty (non Japanese held) zones on your turn; you don’t have to stop and control them.

    In other cases, (through an untouched Persia to untouched or enemy marker northwest Persia), you cannot blitz because you cannot blitz during noncom and you must stop to “raise flags/place control marker” even if you had 1 move left.


  • '14 Customizer

    You cannot use AAA to Activate and friendly neutral army.

    Land Units
    Infantry, artillery, mechanized infantry, tanks, and AAA
    (antiaircraft artillery) can attack and defend only in
    territories. Only infantry, artillery, mechanized infantry,
    and tanks can capture hostile territories or convert
    friendly neutrals.
    All can be carried by transports.

    Europe 1940 - Pg 28



  • @taamvan:

    “as a noncombat move by land units of a power
    that is at war”

    since the AAA gun is a land unit, I don’t see why not.  Nothing under AAA says that it is limited during the noncom.

    Ok, if the Axis attacks and fails, the territory does indeed belong “to the Allies” and to a certain power you choose (Russia, UK etc.).Â

    But, you cannot independently attack with those units, load them on transports, or get the income, until you have “liberated” the territory by placing a friendly allied land unit there.

    Example;
    Italy attacks Yugoslavia.  All the Italian units retreat or die after the first round of combat.  They get no casualties or hits.  Place a face down UK marker and 5 UK infantry there.Â

    Now, the twist is that you CAN land airplanes there (after it has been unsuccessfully attacked by the Axis), as just as the DEI territories, they always friendly.   However, you cannot assert control with air units.   So, you can never place markers, take income, etc until a land unit has visited that territory.  Â

    Only after “taking” the territory during noncoms can you flip the control marker, add the income, and begin controlling the infantry (next turn).  Â

    This will happen very rarely.

    The exception is Mongolia.  If Japan activates war by attacking a Russian held territory adjacent to Mongolian held territory, you place the control markers and the infantry.  They are imm. under the control of Russia and can move or attack starting on its next turn.  You can blitz through the empty (non Japanese held) zones on your turn; you don’t have to stop and control them.

    In other cases, (through an untouched Persia to untouched or enemy marker northwest Persia), you cannot blitz because you cannot blitz during noncom and you must stop to “raise flags/place control marker” even if you had 1 move left.

    Thanks so much. So the scenario was this: Italy attacked Greece, failed miserably. We gave it to UK. Turns later a UK fighter from Jordan flew to SZ 97 to attack a wounded Italian BB. It won, and I wanted it to land in Greece. That’s cool?


  • 2020 2018 2017

    southside; yup can as far as I understand the facts

    Thanks for the clarification on the AAA cyanight


  • Official Q&A

    @taamvan:

    Example;
    Italy attacks Yugoslavia.� � All the Italian units retreat or die after the first round of combat.� � They get no casualties or hits.� � Place a face down UK marker and 5 UK infantry there.� �

    Now, the twist is that you CAN land airplanes there (after it has been unsuccessfully attacked by the Axis), as just as the DEI territories, they always friendly.� � � However, you cannot assert control with air units.� � � So, you can never place markers, take income, etc until a land unit has visited that territory.� � �

    Only after “taking” the territory during noncoms can you flip the control marker, add the income, and begin controlling the infantry (next turn).� � �

    To be clear, the owner of the units (and the face-down control marker) in Yugoslavia is irrelevant.  Whichever Allied power subsequently moves a (non-AAA) land unit into Yugoslavia in non-combat movement first will claim the territory.  If it’s not UK, that power will replace the UK units with its own units.

    Until that time, the only significance of the units in the territory being UK is that the UK player will control the units in combat if Yugoslavia is attacked again.


  • 2020 2018 2017

    Thanks krieghund for the input.  The pieces have to come out of someone’s box,  I call for the giants of ANZAC!


  • 2019 2017 '16


  • Official Q&A

    Selection of casualties could also come into play if AAA and/or air units controlled by another player have moved into the territory.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

40
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts