G40 Balance Mod - Rules and Download


  • @simon33:

    @DeadTom:

    Should subs be able to fire on unescorted transports that move into their sz? I see that in the original rulebook and I don’t see anywhere where that changed, but TripleA doesn’t seem to do it and there is no note saying that TripleA doesn’t handle it properly.

    Unescorted transports can pass subs. They just can’t do an amphibious assault where there’s a sub.

    So, no affect on non-com?

  • '19 '17 '16

    Correct.

    Although the probability if that happens is that the transport will be killed on the opposite side’s turn.

  • '21 '20 '18 '17 '16 '15 TripleA

    Italy occupies Vichy Southern France after the armistice is already in place. All remaining Vichy units are disbanded. What about the factory and the naval base? Do they remain? And can Italy build something in S. France on the same turn?

  • '19 '17

    @freh:

    Italy occupies Vichy Southern France after the armistice is already in place. All remaining Vichy units are disbanded. What about the factory and the naval base? Do they remain? And can Italy build something in S. France on the same turn?

    They remain, and Italy cannot build there on the same turn.

  • '17 '16 '15

    @Adam514:

    @freh:

    Italy occupies Vichy Southern France after the armistice is already in place. All remaining Vichy units are disbanded. What about the factory and the naval base? Do they remain? And can Italy build something in S. France on the same turn?

    They remain, and Italy cannot build there on the same turn.

    So triplea doesn’t enforce the no build same turn. Idk if you can make triplea enforce it or not ? Kinda doubt it but maybe with a trigger ? Anyway, might want to mention it in the Game Notes. Good stuff that Vichy rule : )

  • '17 '16 '15

    Here’s a fix for the factory thing. Need to change this trigger to after:italiansPlace

    <attachment name=“triggerAttachment_Italy_Occupies_Southern_France_Facilities” attachto=“Italians” javaclass=“games.strategy.triplea.attachments.TriggerAttachment” type=“player”></attachment>

    Remove the harbour and factory_minor from this one

    <attachment name=“triggerAttachment_Italy_Occupies_Southern_France_Army_Disband” attachto=“Neutral_Axis” javaclass=“games.strategy.triplea.attachments.TriggerAttachment” type=“player”></attachment>

    and add this one

    <attachment name=“triggerAttachment_Italy_Occupies_Southern_France_Factory_Disband” attachto=“Neutral_Axis” javaclass=“games.strategy.triplea.attachments.TriggerAttachment” type=“player”></attachment>

    So the neutral axis factory won’t swap out until after Italy has placed. Kinda funny freh asked this question two days before I was going to. : ) Anyway Rock On

  • '19 '17 '16

    You’d need to do something similar for Germany, right? What about Japan?

  • '17 '16 '15

    yea for all the axis. I just tested it on Italy because that’s when i noticed it

  • '17 '16 '15

    Notice that Japan isn’t listed for a “Occupies_Southern_France”. Imagine it’s just an oversight since the Game Notes have “Any Axis occupation of Southern France following the Armistice …”

    Would be a good move for Japan if they happened to be in the Med in strength. Would allow them to build. Sorry if this has already been discussed. I haven’t followed this mod that closely.


  • Barney,

    The XML condition your describing relates to whether Vichy France can be activated. . . i.e., if either Germany or Italy occupy Southern France, Vichy cannot occur. It is true, in theory, that japan could take southern france and Vichy could still happen. But, for all practical purposes, its a moot point, since the only possible scenario in which this “bug” could be exploited is if Germany/Italy purposefully delayed taking both normandy and southern France (delaying Vichy) until Japan is in position to take Southern France, and only then take Normandy to trigger Vichy… Apart from trying to exploit the “bug” for its own sake, there would be no conceivable in-game justification for this strategy (Japan can take Southern France after Vichy is activated anyway).

    But thanks for your vigilance!

    J

  • '17 '16 '15

    Hey kid

    yea didn’t think the trigger for Japan was necessary for the initial Southern France occupation. When Vichy has been activated and the axis take control was what I was seeing. Italy was able to build when S France was occupied on same turn. According to Adam that isn’t the intended behavior. Is that correct ?

    Really like the Vichy Rule : ) Been a while since I checked it out.


  • no. but what does that have to do with japan?

  • '17 '16 '15

    @regularkid:

    no. but what does that have to do with japan?

    Once Vichy rule has been activated, if Japan occupies it, the Vichy infantry and artillery aren’t removed. Japan also can’t build there the next turn.

    I agree there is basically no reason to have Japan able to Initiate the Vichy rule. If they were to occupy S France after that though, it wouldn’t work correctly the way I understand it.

    “Zone Libre”: Any Axis occupation of Southern France following the Armistice results in the scuttling of the Vichy French Fleet at Toulon and the disbandment of all remaining Vichy French forces. These forces are removed at the end of the Axis player’s turn in which the occupation of Southern France takes place. Any formerly Vichy French forces that were previously commandeered by the Axis are unaffected by this change.

    From Adam

    @Adam514:

    @freh:

    Italy occupies Vichy Southern France after the armistice is already in place. All remaining Vichy units are disbanded. What about the factory and the naval base? Do they remain? And can Italy build something in S. France on the same turn?

    They remain, and Italy cannot build there on the same turn.

    Right now, Italy can build same turn. So can Germany. Japan not at all. Japan in the Med, late/mid game, seems possible so…

    Anyway, that’s the Japan angle. : )

  • '19 '17 '16

    Or we could change the documentation!  :-D

  • '19 '17

    The sacred texts!


  • In the rules description of marines:

    “New Unit - Marines: Cost 5; Attack at 1; Attack at 2 when involved with an amphibious assault; Defend at 2; No bonus from artillery; Can be loaded onto cruisers and battleships (1 to a ship).”

    there should also mention that marines can be loaded onto a transport like any inf, including being able to load up to two of them. otherwise, newcomers might read this and think marines can ONLY be loaded onto ca and bb

  • '19 '13

    Question regarding this part (and I apologize if it has been answered before, and I just didn’t find it):

    “Fleet at Toulon: In addition to the change in French territorial control, the Armistice changes control of the the French fleet in sz 93, from French to Pro-Axis neutral. The Vichy French fleet maintains a strictly defensive posture. It may not be moved. It may not be captured by the Axis. The fleet is immediately destroyed if any power, other than the Free French, occupies Southern France”

    Does this pro-axis neutral fleet BLOCK allied warships sailing through it, like other surface warships do?

    Say an allied fleet sits in 92, and wants to go to 97, but there’s an italian surface warship in 94, and the Pro-Axis Neutral Vichy French fleet sits in 93; will those two sz be regarded as blocked respectively?

  • '19 '17

    Yes it does block the Allied fleet. Furthermore, Axis ships can move in with the Vichy fleet, and if the Allies attack they fight both fleets.

  • '19 '13

    @Adam514:

    Yes it does block the Allied fleet.

    Thanks for the quick response! It made sense it would, but wanted to be sure before counting on it in a game!

    @Adam514:

    Furthermore, Axis ships can move in with the Vichy fleet, and if the Allies attack they fight both fleets.

    This was clear from the rules post! Good work!


  • Is it right that  Britain can take FIC, without a DOW against Japan?

Suggested Topics

  • 2
  • 1
  • 249
  • 1
  • 45
  • 1
  • 10
  • 4
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures

38

Online

17.1k

Users

39.4k

Topics

1.7m

Posts