Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

G40 Balance Mod 3.0 - Rules and Download


  • 2017 2016 2015

    Hey kid

    yea didn’t think the trigger for Japan was necessary for the initial Southern France occupation. When Vichy has been activated and the axis take control was what I was seeing. Italy was able to build when S France was occupied on same turn. According to Adam that isn’t the intended behavior. Is that correct ?

    Really like the Vichy Rule : ) Been a while since I checked it out.



  • no. but what does that have to do with japan?


  • 2017 2016 2015

    @regularkid:

    no. but what does that have to do with japan?

    Once Vichy rule has been activated, if Japan occupies it, the Vichy infantry and artillery aren’t removed. Japan also can’t build there the next turn.

    I agree there is basically no reason to have Japan able to Initiate the Vichy rule. If they were to occupy S France after that though, it wouldn’t work correctly the way I understand it.

    “Zone Libre”: Any Axis occupation of Southern France following the Armistice results in the scuttling of the Vichy French Fleet at Toulon and the disbandment of all remaining Vichy French forces. These forces are removed at the end of the Axis player’s turn in which the occupation of Southern France takes place. Any formerly Vichy French forces that were previously commandeered by the Axis are unaffected by this change.

    From Adam

    @Adam514:

    @freh:

    Italy occupies Vichy Southern France after the armistice is already in place. All remaining Vichy units are disbanded. What about the factory and the naval base? Do they remain? And can Italy build something in S. France on the same turn?

    They remain, and Italy cannot build there on the same turn.

    Right now, Italy can build same turn. So can Germany. Japan not at all. Japan in the Med, late/mid game, seems possible so…

    Anyway, that’s the Japan angle. : )


  • 2019 2017 2016

    Or we could change the documentation!  😄


  • 2017

    The sacred texts!


  • 2018 2016 2015

    In the rules description of marines:

    “New Unit - Marines: Cost 5; Attack at 1; Attack at 2 when involved with an amphibious assault; Defend at 2; No bonus from artillery; Can be loaded onto cruisers and battleships (1 to a ship).”

    there should also mention that marines can be loaded onto a transport like any inf, including being able to load up to two of them. otherwise, newcomers might read this and think marines can ONLY be loaded onto ca and bb


  • '13

    Question regarding this part (and I apologize if it has been answered before, and I just didn’t find it):

    “Fleet at Toulon: In addition to the change in French territorial control, the Armistice changes control of the the French fleet in sz 93, from French to Pro-Axis neutral. The Vichy French fleet maintains a strictly defensive posture. It may not be moved. It may not be captured by the Axis. The fleet is immediately destroyed if any power, other than the Free French, occupies Southern France”

    Does this pro-axis neutral fleet BLOCK allied warships sailing through it, like other surface warships do?

    Say an allied fleet sits in 92, and wants to go to 97, but there’s an italian surface warship in 94, and the Pro-Axis Neutral Vichy French fleet sits in 93; will those two sz be regarded as blocked respectively?


  • 2017

    Yes it does block the Allied fleet. Furthermore, Axis ships can move in with the Vichy fleet, and if the Allies attack they fight both fleets.


  • '13

    @Adam514:

    Yes it does block the Allied fleet.

    Thanks for the quick response! It made sense it would, but wanted to be sure before counting on it in a game!

    @Adam514:

    Furthermore, Axis ships can move in with the Vichy fleet, and if the Allies attack they fight both fleets.

    This was clear from the rules post! Good work!


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    Is it right that  Britain can take FIC, without a DOW against Japan?


  • 2017

    Yes (and Anzac).


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    Thank you.


  • 2007 AAR League

    @wittmann:

    Is it right that  Britain can take FIC, without a DOW against Japan?

    did not knew that. really interesting.

    but that applies only in the Vichy scenario off course?


  • 2019 2017 2016

    If Vichy isn’t activated UK, ANZAC, USSR can all move troops into FIC but they don’t take ownership in that scenario.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    It is annoyjng, as I don’t ever take FIC, as I like the 10 NO. Habe had to march into it or face the U.K. taking it . On J2 (no DOW) I only made 35: terrible Japanese income!


  • 2019 2017 2016

    What, to prevent 2IPC/turn income going to the allies?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    And having to recapture it, when I nedd yo go elsewhere. Perhaps, I have made a mistake, but will see where it takes  me. Have not yet won as the Axis in BM and fear I won’t change that in this game either.

    You are happy for Britain to take FIC then? I see.


  • 2019 2017 2016

    I normally take it J1 to build the IC on it.


  • 2018 2015 '13

    Rule check for BM:

    Can a FTR attack a territory, if the only place to land after the battle, is a Pro-Axis Neutral which has yet to be, but can be, activated? The plan would be to activate during Non-com so the plane is able to land in the newly activated territory?

    Thanks!


  • '13

    @Odonis:

    Rule check for BM:

    Can a FTR attack a territory, if the only place to land after the battle, is a Pro-Axis Neutral which has yet to be, but can be, activated? The plan would be to activate during Non-com so the plane is able to land in the newly activated territory?

    Thanks!

    No plane can land in any territory that wasn’t controlled at the start of the turn, under any circumstance. Conquered or acquired as pro-neutral still means it wasn’t controlled at the beginning of the turn.


  • 2015 '14

    Correct, the only exception are the orange DEI which can be used as landing space regardless if orange or activated by UK/ANZAC.
    Here the logic is that the already belonged to the side that activated them prior to the activation.


  • '13

    @JDOW:

    Correct, the only exception are the orange DEI which can be used as landing space regardless if orange or activated by UK/ANZAC.
    Here the logic is that the already belonged to the side that activated them prior to the activation.

    True. I believe it is possible to even land ftrs there without having first acquired it with ground units.


  • 2019 2017 2016

    That’s right. So it isn’t an exception. They’re already allied.



  • @arathorn:

    @Odonis:

    Rule check for BM:

    Can a FTR attack a territory, if the only place to land after the battle, is a Pro-Axis Neutral which has yet to be, but can be, activated? The plan would be to activate during Non-com so the plane is able to land in the newly activated territory?

    Thanks!

    No plane can land in any territory that wasn’t controlled at the start of the turn, under any circumstance. Conquered or acquired as pro-neutral still means it wasn’t controlled at the beginning of the turn.

    That doesn’t actually tell the whole story. There is one (extremely rare) instance where you can land air units in a Friendly-Neutral territory that hasn’t been activated yet: a Friendly-Neutral territory that has been attacked, but not taken, by an enemy player, can serve as a landing spot for your planes. This is true even if the Friendly-Neutral territory is not yet activated.

    This rule applies in both Balance Mod and Vanilla.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Official Answers TripleA Moderator

    In order to better expose the Balance Mod to the community, this thread has been moved to “Other Axis & Allies Variants”.


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 40
  • 14
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games

75
Online

13.0k
Users

33.1k
Topics

1.3m
Posts