Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

G40 Balance Mod 3.0 - Rules and Download



  • The same turn you ncm into “vichy” south France you can build units in the factory. Is that a irregularity due to tripleaA or is that how it is supposed to work?



  • irregularity. thanks for pointing that out. the factory can only be used if it is owned by the player since the beginning of the turn.


  • 2018 2017

    Note: During amphibious assaults, Battleships and Cruisers may bombard territories other than the one they unload their marines into.

    Can a ship that unloaded a marine bombard the territory where it unloaded?
    Or can it only bombard adjacent territory other than the one being unloaded into?


  • 2017

    They can bombard any territory, regardless of where the marine unloads (as long as other amphibious forces are unloading in the the territories, per the rules).



  • @Koala:

    Note: During amphibious assaults, Battleships and Cruisers may bombard territories other than the one they unload their marines into.

    Can a ship that unloaded a marine bombard the territory where it unloaded?
    Or can it only bombard adjacent territory other than the one being unloaded into?

    Yah, i realized after publishing the Game Notes that this Note makes it sound like you can ONLY bombard territories OTHER than the ones you unloaded into. What I meant was that you can ALSO bombard territories other than the ones you unloaded into, like Adam said.



  • Revised Victory Conditions: If Germany is Allied control, an Axis victory in the Pacific requires 7 (rather than 6) Pacific VCs. If Japan is Allied control, an Axis victory in Europe requires 9 (rather than 8 ) Europe VCs.

    What happens if Japan capture a 6th VC in the Pacific, the allies capture Germany but it is recaptured before Japan next turn?
    a) Axis win from holding 6 VC for a full turn.
    b) The ‘full turn’ timer are reset when the VC condition goes up.

    If b:
    Those the ‘full turn’ clock restart at the time the Axis recapture Germany or at Japans next turn?


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Well the balanced mod people would have to tell you to be sure, but the capital rules in 2nd edition always stipulate that the capital only must be controlled at the time of the VC check - that is, after the full round of play.

    So if it’s consistent with that principle of 2nd edition, Berlin is Axis controlled at the time of Japan’s next turn = victory


  • 2017

    The BM victory rule is that everything (VCs and Berlin for example) must be controlled for an entire round. If Japan has 6 VCs and Berlin is taken by the Allies and retaken by Italy, Japan would win on Italy’s following turn if Berlin and the Pacific VCs haven’t been traded. So the answer is b.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Oh, fantastic, another rule complication  :x
    Fine, I’ll make another note.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    That is frustrating.  You can’t tell that from the rule in the game notes.
    You also can’t tell what is meant by “mainland Europe” - I had to ask about Norway, Sweden, Finland
    You can’t tell about the Z5 NO situation with Japan and whether Japan has to be at war
    You can’t tell how the bombardment works with marines
    You can’t tell without asking about the French boats in 93 and what happens if they leave

    That’s just off the top of my head.  This is not at you, Adam
    Kid, or whoever, hey the balanced mod rules need to be written more clearly, with no ambiguities.  I guess now you can start to appreciate how hard it is to write new A&A rules and how frequently you know what you mean, but the reader can be confused.  If even the great Krieghund has this problem, I guess you shouldn’t feel bad


  • 2017

    We actually decided what the victory rule regarding the trading of a capital just a week ago, so BM2 indeed does not have the right victory condition wording. In my opinion, requiring a full round with every victory condition met is a lot simpler than allowing the trading of capitals.

    Yup we all have different definitions for words, for example mainland Europe, so sometimes it’s difficult to predict what people might misinterpret or find ambiguous.

    I can’t see how we can improve the sz5 NO wording without giving an example though, it clearly says ‘‘enemy warship’’. If Japan and Russia are neutral then Japan can’t stop that NO.




  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Yeah, to me “mainland Europe” includes Scandinavia and just excludes islands  😄


  • 2016

    Can marines be loaded onto transports?  If so can two of them be loaded on one transport?


  • 2018 2017

    Another question on shore bombardment and marines: :roll:

    I thought I had it, but am not so sure anymore…

    Can you bombard while only unloading marines from cruisers/BBs? Or do you need a transport unloading stuff, too?

    Examples:

    1. one cruiser unloads one marine in a territory.

    • May the cruiser bombard?

    2. one cruiser unloads one marine in a territory AND one transport unloads stuff in the same territory.

    • May the cruiser bombard?

    3. one cruiser unloads one marine in a territory AND one transport unloads stuff in another adjacent territory.

    • May the cruiser bombard? If yes which one? Both?

    thanks in advance 🙂


  • 2015

    @majikforce:

    Can marines be loaded onto transports?  If so can two of them be loaded on one transport?

    Yes to both.


  • 2015

    @Koala:

    Another question on shore bombardment and marines: :roll:

    I thought I had it, but am not so sure anymore…

    Can you bombard while only unloading marines from cruisers/BBs? Or do you need a transport unloading stuff, too?

    Examples:

    1. one cruiser unloads one marine in a territory.

    • May the cruiser bombard?

    2. one cruiser unloads one marine in a territory AND one transport unloads stuff in the same territory.

    • May the cruiser bombard?

    3. one cruiser unloads one marine in a territory AND one transport unloads stuff in another adjacent territory.

    • May the cruiser bombard? If yes which one? Both?

    thanks in advance 🙂

    1. Yes

    2. Yes.

    3. Yes.  It may bombard either one.



  • @Gamerman01:

    Yeah, to me “mainland Europe” includes Scandinavia and just excludes islands  😄

    hehe. its not a matter of opinion really.


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    You’re missing the point.  Use unambiguous language.  Say mainland Europe does not include Scandinavia.



  • but it does include scandinavia. lol


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Wrote it down this time.
    Now I remember you guys saying Russia does get the NO for Finland, Norway still.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016

    In my BM2.0 game vs artofwar I landed us units in Russia pacific side. Russia and us are allies, however russia and japan are not at war, us and japan are. I believe this is not allowed, I just want to be sure.


  • 2017

    @Giallo:

    In my BM2.0 game vs artofwar I landed us units in Russia pacific side. Russia and us are allies, however russia and japan are not at war, us and japan are. I believe this is not allowed, I just want to be sure.

    It is not allowed (whether it’s BM or vanilla).


  • 2019 2017 2016

    @regularkid:

    http://ghstravelsafe.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/Europe.gif

    Iceland is part of europe? No.

    Britain and Ireland? Europe is a continent isn’t it. Continents can’t include islands. Does this refer to the EU perhaps?

    continent1
    ˈkɒntɪnənt/
    noun
    noun: continent; plural noun: continents

    any of the world’s main continuous expanses of land (Europe, Asia, Africa, North and South America, Australia, Antarctica).
        synonyms: mainland
        “the continent of Europe”



  • Islands can be part of continents. This is hardly a close call. For example, the U.K. Is absolutely part of Europe, geographically speaking. I wasn’t able to find the extremely tortured definition you quoted on any of the main dictionary sites. A source might be helpful.

    Merriam Webster offers this definition

    continent
    adjective  con·ti·nent \ˈkän-tə-nənt
    Simple Definition of continent
    medical : able to control your bladder and bowels


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 13
  • 1082
  • 8
  • 10
  • 40
  • 4
  • 14
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games

63
Online

13.1k
Users

33.3k
Topics

1.3m
Posts