Flying over the dardanelles



  • Is it possible to fly from the Aegean to the Black Sea in one turn if Turkey is still neutral?
    According to page 9 of the rules:
    “The movement of air units is completely unaffected by canals and straits, whether they are moving over land or sea.  They can pass between sea zones connected by the canal or strait regardless of which side controls it.”
    However, according to page 11:
    “Air units can’t fly over an unfriendly neutral unless they are attacking it.” (followed by a caveat that this also applies to strict neutrals.)

    So I guess my question is do the Dardanelles count as part of Turkey?


  • '16 '15 '10

    Yes those 2 sea zones directly connect with one another for air units.

    The sea zones are not a neutral country (like Turkey) so there’s no violation.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

59
Online

14.8k
Users

35.5k
Topics

1.4m
Posts