Russian rules question
can the Russians take a spot from the Italians if the germans are there and not at war?
I assume you are asking about a land territory. The answer would be no. When you attack a land territory, you attack all country’s units that are in that land territory. So if Russia attacks an Italian territory that has German units in it, then Russia just declared war on Germany.
Sea zones are different. In a sea zone, you can attack one power’s units while other “neutral” power’s ships will simply sit there.