This is a scenario beginning in 1939, using the map and pieces from Axis & Allies: 1942 Second Edition. At the start of the game, many territories are considered neutral, including France and its colonies, the Netherlands and their colonies, the USA, Poland, and southern Europe. Germany and Japan start the game with a reduced set of core territories, but they are in a position to expand very, very rapidly – the Axis player will get to choose which direction(s) to expand in, and whether to risk trying to expand on 5-6 fronts simultaneously, or whether to choose a more conservative strategy. The USA begins the game with the ability to send ‘volunteers’ to help defend friendly territories, and will fully enter the war in about 2 to 6 turns, depending on how aggressively the Axis conduct their initial invasions. Most of the impassible neutral territories, such as Sweden and Argentina, have been activated in this scenario, the penalties for losing your capitol have been reduced, and there is a new list of victory cities and new starting factory locations. Otherwise, the rules are virtually identical to OOB Axis & Allies 1942: Second Edition.
At the start of the game, the Axis have 5 VCs (Berlin, Rome, Addis Ababa, Tokyo, Shanghai), and the Allies have 10 VCs (London, Ottawa, Szechuan, Honolulu, Manila, Calcutta, Moscow, Leningrad, Stalingrad, Vladivostok). There are 3 starting neutral VCs (Paris, Warsaw, Rio de Janeiro). The game lasts for a minimum of 2 turns. At the end of turns 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9, if either the Allies or the Axis control 12 or more of the 18 available VCs, then that team automatically wins. Otherwise, at the end of turn 10, whoever controls the most Victory Cities wins. If both players control an equal number of victory cities at the end of turn 10, then the game is a draw.
Modified Turn Order
The turn order is Germany - Britain - USA - Japan - Russia.
Invading Neutral Territories
The Sahara, Afghanistan, the Himalayas, and Mongolia are still considered impassible. All other territories marked as impassible start the game as ‘neutral’ territories, which can be invaded if you have the troops to spare. Each neutral territory has an economic value as marked on the setup chart at the bottom of this post.
Any player can invade a neutral territory. If successful, the neutral territory becomes conquered by the invader, and is treated just like any other conquered territory. However, if you begin the invasion of a true neutral territory but do not conquer it on the same turn, the neutral falls under the control of the enemy with the closest territory (e.g. 1 space away, 2 spaces away, etc.) Sea zones count as 1 space each. For example, at the start of the game, a failed German invasion of Sweden would result in Sweden being controlled by the Russians, whereas a failed British invasion of Sweden would result in Sweden being controlled by the Germans. In case of a tie, the team that will receive the territory can decide which nation to assign it to. If the team cannot decide, the player whose invasion failed may decide which enemy nation to assign it to. For example, a failed German invasion of Turkey would allow the Allies to assign control of Turkey to either Britain or Russia, since both the Russians and the British have territories that are adjacent to Turkey. If the British and Russian players cannot agree, then Germany would get to decide whether Turkey goes to Britain or to Russia.
Neutral countries do not �remember� who they were controlled by, and they can be liberated (and thereafter controlled and used) by any enemy of the current occupying power.
If you invade a French neutral territory, regardless of whether your invasion is successful, there is a 50% chance that each of the uninvaded French neutral territories will defect to your opponents at the end of your turn, using the rules described above. There is also a 16% chance that the unconquered French neutral territories will defect to the Germans. For example, suppose Germany attacks France, Morocco, and Algeria on turn 1. The French and Moroccan invasions are successful, but the Algerian invasion fails. Germany will control France and Morocco, and Britain will control Algeria, but Madagascar, French West Africa, and French Equatorial Africa will each have a 50% chance of defecting to the British. Roll 1d6 for each unconquered territory. On a roll of 1, 2, or 3, it joins the British. On a roll of 4 or 5, it stays neutral. On a roll of 6, it joins the Germans (or, in the case of Madagascar, the Japanese). Note that when the USA joins the war, then after the end of the entire USA turn (including income collection and unit placement), any French territories that are still neutral become owned by the USA.
Similarly, if you invade a Dutch neutral territory, there is a 50% chance that uninvaded Dutch neutral territories will defect to your opponents at the end of your turn, and a 16% chance that the territories will defect to you. For example, if Japan launches a failed invasion of Borneo, then Borneo automatically defects to the British, and then on a roll of 1, 2, or 3, the West Indies, the Congo, and Northwestern Europe will each defect to the British, and on a roll of 6 each of those three territories will defect to the Axis (Germany would control Northwest Europe and Congo; Japan would control the West Indies and Borneo).
If you invade a true neutral territory, nothing special happens other than that you either conquer it or activate it for your opponents.
Modified capital capture rules
If your capital is captured, the captor loots half your total treasury, rounded down – e.g., if you have 11 IPCs, the captor steals 5 IPCs, and you keep 6 IPCs. On subsequent turns, you collect income as normal, although obviously you do not collect income from your capital while the capital is occupied. Losing your capital obviously prevents you from building units at your capital, but it does not completely shut down your production abilities. Instead, you may continue to build units at ICs outside your capital as normal. If you can afford it, you may even build a new IC outside your capital.
The Turkish straits are closed by default to all players at the start of the game. You must control Turkey (either by conquering it or by having it survive an enemy attack) in order to freely move ships between the central Mediterranean and the Black Sea. Planes may freely fly over the Turkish straits as normal.
If you wish, you may defy Turkish neutrality and cross the straits without permission. Each time you do so, for each boat (including transports) that you move through the straits, roll 1d6. A ship that rolls a “5” or “6” is considered to be sunk by fire from Turkish coastal guns, and is immediately destroyed, along with (for transports) any of its cargo. In addition, if you rolled at least one “6”, then Turks align with your enemies at the end of your turn, as if you had invaded Turkey by land.
You may not cross the Turkish straits at all if Turkey is controlled by an enemy power.
US entry counter
The USA starts the game with a -20 IPCs/turn income penalty, which represents the economic effects of a peacetime economy. On turn 1, the USA controls 39 IPCs’ worth of territory, so it will collect 39 - 20 = 19 IPCs. The USA also starts the game unable to initiate combat against the Axis. The USA may still send troops to defend Allied-occupied territories (�volunteers�) and/or attack neutral territories. Each time the Axis powers invade a true neutral, French, Dutch, or Chinese territory, add 1 chip to the �US Entry� zone. Each time the Axis powers invade a British or Russian territory, add 2 chips to the �US Entry� zone. For example, if on turn one, Germany invades Karelia, Poland, and Egypt, you would add 5 chips to the US entry zone – 2 for Karelia, 1 for Poland, and 2 for Egypt. If later on turn 1, Japan invades Anhwei and Kwangtung, you would add 3 more chips to the US entry zone, for a total of 8 chips – 1 for Anhwei (a Chinese territory) and 2 for Kwangtung (a British-controlled territory). If at the start of turn 2, Germany also invades Northwest Europe and Sudan, you would add 3 more chips to the US entry zone, for a total of 11 chips (1 for neutral NW Europe, and 2 for British-controlled Sudan).
At the end of each USA turn, roll 4d6. If the result is less than the number of chips in the US Entry zone, the USA enters the war, and may thereafter initiate combat against the Axis. For example, based on the game described above, there would be 5 chips in the US entry zone on the first roll, so it would be very unlikely for the US to enter the war – the US would have to roll quadruple ones on four dice. At the end of turn 2, the US would have about a 15% chance of entering the war – there would be 11 chips in the pot, so the US needs to roll an 10 or less on four dice. The odds that the US will enter the war on any given turn keep going up over time as the Axis make more invasions, and the cumulative odds that the US will have entered the war by a certain turn go up even faster.
Also, if either Axis player invades or bombs any American-controlled territory (other than China) or attacks any purely American fleet, then the USA enters the war, and may thereafter initiate combat against the Axis. For example, if Japan attacks the Philippines, then the US will automatically enter the war at the beginning of its next turn, without the need to roll any dice. Because the US already paid the ‘peacetime penalty’ of -20 IPC at the end of its last turn, it will have a reduced income during its first turn at war in response to a direct attack.
Note that attacking a mixed group of ships, or attacking a territory where there happen to be some American troops, does not have any effect on when the USA enters the war – what matters is the owner of the invaded territory, not the owner of the defending troops.
Damaged Starting Factories
Many of the Allied powers begin with one or more damaged industrial centers (factories). This represents the Axis powers’ successful surprise attack, and the need for the Allies to ‘gear up’ for war before they can recruit significant troops for the war effort. As the Allied player, you are not required to remove this damage, but normal damage rules apply, and may prevent you from deploying troops, so you may find it necessary to remove some or all of the damage as part of your strategy.
The French factory also begins with maximum strategic damage. This primarily represents the need for the Germans to engage in costly pacification and occupation efforts before the Vichy regime can begin to contribute useful resources to the Axis war effort. If the Axis attack on France fails, the strategic damage can also represent the French reluctance to raise a large army, since the French are still reeling from World War I.
GERMANY (17 IPCs with 0 damage)
Germany: 6 inf, 2 art, 4 tnk, 2 ftr, 2 bmb, 1 AAA, 1 IC
Italy: 3 inf, 1 art, 1 tnk, 1 ftr, 1 IC
Libya: 2 inf
Rumania: 2 inf, 1 art, 1 ftr, 1 IC
Finland: 3 inf, 1 art, 1 ftr
Italian East Africa: 3 inf, 1 art, 1 ftr
Baltic Sea (SZ 5): 1 cruiser, 1 destroyer, 1 transport, 1 submarine
Central Med (SZ 15): 1 battleship, 1 destroyer, 1 transport
West Indian (SZ 33): 1 submarine
Norwegian Sea (SZ 3): 1 submarine
East Atlantic (SZ 13): 1 submarine
West Altantic (SZ 22): 1 cruiser
South Atlantic (SZ 25): 1 submarine
BRITAIN (30 IPCs with 20 damage)
United Kingdom: 3 inf, 1 art, 1 tnk, 1 ftr, 1 AAA, 1 IC with 6 damage
Eastern Canada: 1 inf, 1 IC with 6 damage
Western Canada: 1 inf
Egypt: 3 inf
Sudan: 1 inf, 1 art
Rhodesia: 1 inf
South Africa: 2 inf, 1 IC with 4 damage
Trans-Jordan: 1 inf, 1 ftr
India: 3 inf, 1 art, 1 AAA, 1 IC with 4 damage
Burma: 1 inf
Malaya: 1 inf
Kwangtung: 1 inf
New Guinea: 1 inf
Eastern Australia: 1 inf, 1 art, 1 AAA, 1 IC with 2 damage
Western Australia: 1 inf
New Zealand: 1 inf
English Channel (SZ 8): 1 destroyer, 1 cruiser, 1 transport
North Sea (SZ 6): 1 cruiser
Nova Scotia (SZ 10): 1 battleship, 1 carrier, 1 destroyer, 1 transport
East Mediterranean (SZ 17): 1 battleship, 1 destroyer, 1 transport
South Atlantic (SZ 21): 1 cruiser, 1 destroyer, 1 submarine
Indian Ocean (SZ 35): 1 carrier with 1 fighter, 1 destroyer, 1 transport
Tasmanian Sea (SZ 39): 1 submarine
Australian Sea (SZ 45): 1 cruiser, 1 transport
USA (19 IPCs with 24 damage)
Eastern US: 1 inf, 1 tnk, 1 ftr, 1 AAA, 1 IC with 12 damage
Central US: 1 inf
Western US: 1 inf, 1 art, 1 AAA, 1 IC with 10 damage
Alaska: 1 inf
Hawaii: 1 inf
Panama: 1 inf
Phillipines: 1 inf, 1 art
Szchewan: 2 inf, 1 ftr, 1 IC with 2 damage
Anhui: 1 inf
Yunnan: 1 inf
Sinkiang: 1 inf
West Atlantic (SZ 11): 1 cruiser, 2 destroyer, 1 transport
East Pacific (SZ 56): 1 carrier w/ 1 fighter, 1 battleship, 1 destroyer, 1 transport
Panama Canal (SZ 19): 1 cruiser, 1 transport
JAPAN (15 IPCs with 0 damage)
Japan: 2 inf, 2 art, 1 tnk, 2 ftr, 1 bmb, 1 AAA, 1 IC
Manchuria: 3 inf, 1 art, 1 tnk, 1 ftr
Shanghai: 2 inf, 1 art, 1 tnk, 1 ftr
Thailand: 2 inf, 1 art
Okinawa: 1 inf
Caroline Islands: 1 inf
Sea of Japan (SZ 60): 1 battleship, 1 carrier w/ 2 ftrs, 2 destroyers, 1 transport
Yellow Sea (SZ 61): 1 cruiser, 1 carrier w/ 1 ftr, 1 destroyer, 2 transports
USSR (29 IPCs with 14 damage)
Karelia: 2 inf, 1 tnk, 1 ftr, 1 AAA, 1 IC with 2 damage
Archangel: 1 inf
West Russia: 2 inf, 1 art
Belorussia: 2 inf
Moscow: 1 inf, 1 art, 1 tnk, 1 AAA, 1 IC with 6 damage
Ukraine: 1 inf, 1 tnk
Caucuses: 2 inf, 1 art, 1 AAA, 1 IC with 4 damage
Kazakhstan: 1 inf
Vologda: 1 inf
Evenki: 1 inf, 1 art, 1 IC with 2 damage
Yakutsk: 1 inf, 1 ftr
Soviet Far East: 1 inf
Buryatia: 4 inf
White Sea (SZ 4): 1 destroyer, 1 submarine, 1 transport
Black Sea (SZ 16): 1 cruiser, 1 transport
Northwest Pacific (SZ 63): 1 submarine
!France: 3 inf, 1 tnk, 1 ftr, 1 AAA, 1 IC with 12 damage
Morocco: 1 inf
Algeria: 1 inf, 1 art
French West Africa: 1 inf
French Equatorial Africa: 1 inf
French Madagascar: 1 inf
Northwest Europe: 2 inf, 1 IC with 4 damage
Belgian Congo: 1 inf
Borneo: 1 inf
Dutch East Indies: 1 inf
Norway: 3 inf
Sweden: 3 inf, 1 ftr (2 IPCs)
!Poland: 2 inf, 1 ftr
Baltic States: 1 inf
Southern Europe: 2 inf, 1 art
Persia: 1 inf
Saudi Arabia: 2 inf (1 IPC)
Mexico: 2 inf
West Indies: 1 inf
Brazil: 2 inf
Argentina: 1 inf (2 IPCs)
Colombia: 1 inf (1 IPC)
Venezuela: 1 inf (1 IPC)
Spain: 5 inf, 1 art, 1 ftr (3 IPC)
Turkey: 6 inf, 1 art, 1 ftr (3 IPC)
Eire: 3 inf (1 IPC)
EDIT: Tweaked USA-entry rules based on second solo playtest. Invading Chinese territories now only adds 1 USA-entry chip (not 2), but if France is still neutral when USA enters war, then all French territories become owned by USA. This puts a clock on Germany’s conquest of France…you don’t have to attack France right away, but if you leave them alone for turns and turns, eventually France will manage to get an offensive together.