House Rules - do you have limits?

• “Going too far is as bad as not going far enough.” - Chinese proverb

I read this saying in a book of quotes the other day and got to thinking about house rules for Axis and Allies. Is it possible to go too far?

I would estimate my game group uses about 90% rules that can be found in official game manuals and 10% house rules. But I love tinkering with rules - it’s as much a hobby to me as building scale model kits. I have a master list I made of things I’d like to add to our game before I say “it is done.” 12 of them are new units and 10 are rule additions and changes.

What motivates you to make a house rule?

1. Desire for Historical accuracy - I read history books and see something glaringly inaccurate in the current rules and think “Oh we should change that.”
    2. Boredom - after several sessions the game can become stale and repetitive to me. (Probably faster than for others, I admit.) I think - “Oh, this would add some spice, let’s put that in.”

What are the pitfalls of too many house rules?

1. Loss of the identity of the game “Axis and Allies.”
    2. Loss of community - I sometimes find myself unable to comment on the many threads here because my game map and rules are not exactly the same.
    3. New players can get overwhelmed with poorly explained house rules.
    4. Regular players can get discouraged with having to adjust to new changes and quit.

What stops me from implementing a new house rule?

1. Sentiment - For example, I have fond memories going back years of strategic bombers attacking ships @ 4, even though that wasn’t historically true. I’ll probably never change that in the rules, just because of its warm familiarity.
    2. Lack of clear thought - it is easier for me to dislike something in the rules than to have a clear idea that improves them. For example, I may not like AA guns shooting down 1/6 planes. But if I am wedded to using six sided dice for some reason, then what would work better?