• I’ve been playing the 1984 MB version for almost 30 years.  We’ve done some interesting HR’s here and there.  One thing we use to do was have a transport plane.  Instead of a bomber being used as a bomber, we would allow it to be used to transport 2 infantry as paratroops to be dropped into a territory within R6.  The player would make the choice of whether the bomber was to be used as a bomber or as a transport, it couldn’t do both.  It made for many interesting tactical choices in these games.

Now we’re playing the 1942 second edition as per the rules.  But I still have all my 1984 pieces (and the whole game actually).  So it would be easy to differentiate between actual bombers and those used as transports only. I’d just have to figure a reasonable cost in IPC’s.  In the classic game, a bomber was 15 IPC so we kept it at that for buying transports.  In the 1942 2E version the bomber is 12 IPC.  Perhaps 10 IPC for the transport-only?

Just tossing this out there.  Curious if anyone ever did this as well?

• I think range needs to be reduced to 4, otherwise sounds like a good idea. Perhaps restrict the number allowed per nation too.

• I think reducing the range on a transport-only plane to R4 is reasonable.  How many transport-only planes would you suggest per nation?  Do you feel that a cost of 10 IPC’s is reasonable, or should it cost the same as an actual bomber?

Given that I have all the 1984 version bombers, which differ from the 1942.2 bombers, it would be easy to know which was which.

We really like this in the classic games as you really had to pay close attention to how you reinforced your countries, particularly crucial countries and capitals.

• Keep the same price, I think.
    I have been thinking since I posted, how dropping two Inf might be a touch too powerful. Should it be just the one?
    I suppose one Transport per nation. You could allow the US two.