Alternate Setup for A&A 1942 2nd Edition

• 2023 '22 '21 '20 '19 '18 '17 '16

Hi! I’ve been brainstorming alternate setups for Axis & Allies 1942 2nd Edition that could help (a) balance the game without the need for a further bid, and (b) promote counter-attacks and push-back across a larger portion of the globe, so that the game doesn’t quickly settle down into a stalemate with all the action in only two or three small regions. In particular, I wanted to give Russia the ability to counter-punch in Siberia, give Germany the ability to land a nuisance attack somewhere in the Atlantic, give Britain the ability to fight for Africa even after losing Egypt, give Japan the option to pull troops out of China to use on other fronts, and guarantee that America starts with at least some fleet in the Atlantic.

Let me know if you think this setup would help achieve any/all of these goals, and how you would do it better!

Russian – add 1 art to Yakutsk
    German – add 1 inf to Morocco, 1 transport off the western coast of Morocco
    British – add 1 inf to Italian East Africa, add 1 art to South Africa, add 1 art to Eastern Australia
    Japanese – add 1 transport and 1 destroyer to Chinese coast (using OOB rules, I think both Japanese transports are adjacent to Tokyo, and none are adjacent to China)
    American – add 1 destroyer and 1 transport to Caribbean Sea

Allied bid – one Industrial Complex, to be placed in any Allied-controlled territory before the start of R1.

• '17 '16

Your goals are interesting.
    Additional units are not OP.
    It promises more actions.
    I like it.
    IDK if it disturbes opening battles.

• An alternate setup idea I had involved adding 6 Allied AA guns.

Two for each faction.
    One for the US in China and in Hawaii.
    One for the UK in Egypt and Australia
    One for the USSR in Siberia and Lenningrad