Scramble question.



  • Ok, here is the situation. Game of Global 1940. Uk turn. Uk attacks Western Germany with one infatry from Holland and amfibious assault with cruiser and 3 transports with 6 infantry from sz 112. Also with 2 Fighters from UK. West Germany only has ONE Tactical Bomber. Now, can Ger player scramble and try to kill UK ships?


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016

    Yes, the German player can scramble the tactical bomber. If the defending tactical bomber kills the cruiser and does not die, the transports carrying six infantry must retreat.

    Marsh



  • Technically, you could continue the attack with only the transports, and the tactical bomber would be taking a shot @3 to kill one each round. There’s no practical reason you (as the attacker) wouldn’t retreat in that case.

    You can, however, send a plane to the SZ to increase your odds of winning in case Germany scrambles, but that plane would not be able to participate in the actual attack on Western Germany if they did not scramble.



  • the tac bomber can only defend against the enemy ships conducting the assault, they cant attack any transports.

    if the attacker brings a ship and doesnt clear the sea zone they can’t amphibious assault.

    if they dont bring any attacking ships, the tac bomber can’t scramble, and the transports unload normally.



  • @Jeuseppe:

    the tac bomber can only defend against the enemy ships conducting the assault, they cant attack any transports.

    if the attacker brings a ship and doesnt clear the sea zone they can’t amphibious assault.

    if they dont bring any attacking ships, the tac bomber can’t scramble, and the transports unload normally.

    The Tactical bomber can scramble if there is an attack from an adjacent sea zone, this includes unescorted and defenceless transports landing (attacking) during an amphibious assault. You’re right that the landing can’t take place if the sea zone is not cleared, and the fact that transports alone can’t destroy the tactical bomber, the logical response would be to retreat ASAP.



  • So, one can send fighters to escort transports and warships heading to amphibious landing even if there is none of the defending warships?
    Second, what about that infantry coming from land (Holland). Fighter can still scramble, even if that means w. Germany will be taken by that one infantry.


  • 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 '13 Moderator

    Yes, if there is a possible scramble there. Is probably a good idea sometimes.
    If you are landing a unit amphibiously, yes it would take the territory unopposed. But you have too clear the Sea Zone first, of course. You fail and the unit stays on board.


Log in to reply
 

Suggested Topics

  • 3
  • 7
  • 2
  • 19
  • 2
  • 5
  • 6
  • 3
I Will Never Grow Up Games

40
Online

13.5k
Users

33.8k
Topics

1.3m
Posts