Second is more complex: When an Aircraft Carrier is defending, are fighters on it simply considered cargo, or do they get to defense dice just the the rest of the units in the seazone? Do friendly powers’ fighters on a Carrier get to defend at a 3 as well?
I ask because the rules specifically state that Aircraft Carriers have ‘Fighter Defense’ and that a fighter can “take the hit” for the carrier. If the fighters are active defense units, the statement seems kind of redundant (other than to specify that friendly powers’ fighters can do this).
From a defensive perspective, this statement can seem redunant. However, I believe the statement is made because from an attacking perspective it is different. Friendly fighters on a carrier ARE considered only cargo: they can not join the attack nor be taken as a hit.