Subs and Amphibious Assault



  • Just need clarification

    I have a German sub off of Gibraltar. The US moves 2 x Transports into the zone to conduct a amphibious assault. Since the sub is there in the same zone as the Transports, and the transports ARE NOT escorted with a surface warship then the Transports cannot conduct an amphibious assault. Is that correct?

    Also, if the US takes Gibraltar in a later turn, any US warships in the adjacent sea zones cannot use the Naval Base non-combat movement advantage of three zones until the next movement turn - aka not the same turn they captured the port of Gibraltar. Is that correct?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @leobarron2000:

    I have a German sub off of Gibraltar. The US moves 2 x Transports into the zone to conduct a amphibious assault. Since the sub is there in the same zone as the Transports, and the transports ARE NOT escorted with a surface warship then the Transports cannot conduct an amphibious assault. Is that correct?

    Correct!

    @leobarron2000:

    Also, if the US takes Gibraltar in a later turn, any US warships in the adjacent sea zones cannot use the Naval Base non-combat movement advantage of three zones until the next movement turn - aka not the same turn they captured the port of Gibraltar. Is that correct?

    Correct! The capturing power (and, in the case of bases, its allies) can use facilities on the turn after they are captured.



  • Thank you!



  • @leobarron2000:

    Also, if the US takes Gibraltar in a later turn…

    Assuming of course that “takes” means that the US is liberating Gibraltar from Axis control.



  • Yes,“taking” as in liberating.

    If the US had subs with their transports, those do not count as escorts since they are not surface warships and therefore, it still means the US cannot perform an amphibious assault since there is a German sub in the zone? Correct?


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 Customizer '13 '12 '11 '10

    @leobarron2000:

    Yes,“taking” as in liberating.

    Reminds me a bit of all the “liberated cognac” and other high-octane refreshments that the grateful people of France gave to the American and British troops as they advanced across their country after D-Day.  😄  In addition to consuming it in the conventional manner, some U.S. soldiers found more imaginative uses for the stuff.  G.I.s, for instance, sometimes mixed it with the much-despised “lemon powder” from their K rations to produce a very unorthodox version of a whiskey sour.  Further up the chain of command, Major General John S. Wood of the U.S. 4th Armored Division often took advantage of the return trips of his unloaded supply trucks to send crates of complimentary booze to Air Corps bases, to thank the flyers for the excellent close air support that they provided to his men on request via Air Corps liaison officers who worked alongside Wood’s front line troops.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @leobarron2000:

    If the US had subs with their transports, those do not count as escorts since they are not surface warships and therefore, it still means the US cannot perform an amphibious assault since there is a German sub in the zone? Correct?

    No. the rules do not specify the need of a surface warship.

    @rulebook:

    However, a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy submarines unless at least 1 warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.

    So a single submarine joinig the transports will be enough.



  • Interesting. I thought it had to be a surface warship since subs can be ignored.


  • 2020 2019 2018 2017 '16 '15 '14 '13 Official Q&A TripleA Moderator

    @leobarron2000:

    Interesting. I thought it had to be a surface warship since subs can be ignored.

    Maybe you mix it up with Kamikaze strikes, that can target any specific enemy surface warship (not a submarine or transport).



  • Wish I could. It’s in the Atlantic!


  • '14 Customizer

    A transport can load units while in any friendly sea zone along its route, including the sea zone it started in. If a transport loads
    land units during the Combat Move phase, it must offload those units to attack a hostile territory as part of an amphibious
    assault during the Conduct Combat phase, or it must retreat during the sea combat step of the amphibious assault sequence
    while attempting to do so. A transport that is part of an amphibious assault must end its movement in a friendly sea zone (or
    one that could become friendly as result of sea combat) from which it can conduct the assault. However, a transport is not
    allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing 1 or more ignored enemy submarines unless at
    least 1 warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase.

    Page 16, AA Pacific 1940 Rulebook

    Battleships, aircraft carriers, cruisers, destroyers, submarines, and transports move, attack, and defend in sea zones. They
    can’t move into territories. For the sake of these rules, the following are surface warships: battleships, carriers, cruisers, and
    destroyers. Transports are not warships. Submarines are warships, but they are not surface warships.

    Page 31, AA Pacific 1940 Rulebook

    This might help clarify.


Log in to reply
 

20th Anniversary Give Away

In January 2000 this site came to life and now we're celebrating our 20th Anniversary with a prize giveaway of 30+ prizes. See this link for the list of prizes and winners.
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys
T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 7
  • 15
  • 10
  • 5
  • 14
  • 3
  • 5
  • 6
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

49
Online

14.9k
Users

35.7k
Topics

1.5m
Posts