So, is it mandatory to speed up combat (removing all remaining TRSs at once), or is it not such a strict rule, more an option based on the desire to speed up combat.
It is mandatory.
Last but not least: the rules clearly state that when an area containing only AAA units is attacked, the AAA units are automatically destroyed and the combat is concluded. In the OP’s example however, the territory did not contain only AAA units so combat was entered. Doesn’t this entitle the attacker the option to (combat sequence step 6) press the attack (in which case all remaining AAA will be destroyed at once) or retreat (in which case the remaining AAA will survive)?
I’m on the other side of the game VS brincobi, and obviously have somewhat of a vested interest in this but really just want to know what the rule is.
First off, Krieghund’s ruling makes sense to me. Thanks for replying!
While reviewing the rulebook, I found something else that didn’t quite make sense to me:
If you moved any units into unoccupied hostile territories
or hostile territories that contain only facilities and/or
AAA units, no actual combat is necessary. Simply skip to
step 7 (Conclude Combat) for each of these territories and
remove any AAA units that might be in them. (page 19 under “General Combat”
So let’s say I attack a territory with 1 fighter, and it has one defending AAA. Does the AAA fire at me before I automatically kill it? Or is it just automatically destroyed? According to my reading of the rules, there would be no combat and the AAA would be automatically destroyed.
EDIT: I just found this in the AAA unit profile:
An AAA unit can fire at an air unit only
when that unit attacks land and/or air units in the territory
containing that AAA unit.
So that answers my question. Any undefended AAA are automatically destroyed by any attacking land or air unit.
The AAA will get to fire. If any attacking units remain, the AAA will be automatically destroyed.
From my understanding, transports are defenseless and removed once they are no longer protected. The exception would be in a battle where subs + other naval or sea units are in sea combat, and only transports and air remain on the defender side. Assuming only the sub hits in any given round of combat, the sub hits would have to apply to the transports, but common sense would suggest that a single hit by a single sub would only kill a single transport, and not all of them at once. Unless they would all die at once?
They would not all die until they are defenseless.