these are our rules for Vichy France. I am aware that they are not 100% historically accurate, but they provide a lot of fun and strategic nuances for both sides to consider.Vichy France Rules
When for the first time “Normandy/Bordeaux” and “France” is under German control, while no other originally French-controlled territory has been taken by the Axis, the German player can choose to install the Vichy regime at the beginning of the Calculate Income phase. In that case, Germany only takes the IPCs of the Free France (10), the rest goes to Vichy France (9).
Follow this setup to proceed:Setup Southern France is the capital of Vichy France Vichy is no victory city Start IPCs are 9 (The ones taken from the original France, not 9 + 9) Choose a new IPC tracker for Vichy France and put it on 9 Vichy France is not at war (details on the politicy section) Put Vichy occupation markers on “Southern France”, “Marocco”, “Algeria”, “Tunesia”, “Syria” and “French Indo China” Politics
Vichy France sees itself as the official representetive of the French nation and accepts its defeat in the war. It is not at war with anybody opon its creation. Vichy France can not declare war on an allied nation before the beginning of the 4th turn after its creation (Rethinking its position in the world and its strategy from a colonial strategy to a european strategy, influenced by German concessions). Vichy France fears allied attacks on their harbours after Britain attacked French fleets in North Africa earlier. Thus it understands the passing through or stationing of allied surface warships in SZ 93 as declaration of war. As long as Vichy France is not at war, the Japanese player may conquer “French Indo China” (After a declaration of war against Free France) without Vichy France entering the war. Vichy France will accept this loss of territory as a delayed, but still inevitable result of the war they were in previously (Special rule). A Vichy territory, conquered by the Allies is freed for the Free France, as if it was taken from France previously.National Objectives
If Vichy France is at war:
1IPC for every German ground troop in “Southern France” (max 5): Material and aid from GermanyFree France Setup The Forces françaises libres (here called Free France) have no capital and follow the rules for china, with a few exceptions, those are: French units can leave their original borders Free France is allowed to build and use factories, when they have a fitting territory or conquer a territory containing a factory. In these factories they can produce all unit types Free France is not allowed to spawn units in territories conquered this turn France can produce infantry in original Free-French territories (“French West Africa”, “French Central Africa”, “French Equatorial Africa”, “French Madagascar” and “French Guiana”) and also Artillery, if no convoy disruption could be executed in this moment on the UK (Europe) Start IPC are 0, because Germany took it Put the IPC tracker on 4 Politics
The Forces françaises libres continue the fight against the Axis fiercely. It is at war with Germany and Italy. The normal rules apply.National Objectives
3 IPCs for each freed Vichy-French territory now under Free-French control: Nations joining company with the Forces françaises libres
5 IPCs if the allies control “Normandy/Bordaux”: Paris being in reach, encourages more and more French, once loyal to the Vichy regime, to fight for a truly free home countryUnification
When Paris is freed, additional to the printed effect this effect occures: France is unified at the end of the current Allied players conduct combat phase. All french units on the board now fight for the Allies. Remove all Vichy markers on the board and replace them with France markers. Adjust the income tracker and sum the treasuries. When there are French untis now on Axis territories, instantly fight all fights. France must conduct at least the first round of battle before they can retreat. In this special case, they can retreat to any legal adjecent territory. On the sea, you can choose not to fight. You now share the field with the enemy. If you conquer any territory with this rule, it counts as conquered this turn for the allied player currently at the turn, therefore it does not become a legal landing place.FAQ Italy National Objective Italy can not earn the NO for North Africa, as long as Vichy France is not at war, because the areas must be in Axis hands, which Vichy is not part of at that point. Italy can earn the NO for Gibraltar, Greece and Egypt, Southern France however can not be counted in, as long as Vichy France is not at war.