• I have successfully done sealion the past 3 games. However, the problem for me has been that Russia is very strong and it’s almost impossible to hold them off. So does anyone have suggestions for stopping Russia?

• I am by no means an expert, but my game plan in a Sealion situation is to win in the Pacific. Hold the Russkies off, hopefully divert US forces to Atlantic, then rush for Calcutta/Honolulu with Japan.

Taking London G3/4 basically means you won’t be taking Moscow ever. Europe victory will have to be London/Cairo/Leningrad/Stalingrad.

• '15

If you’re playing an experienced Russia player, and the US has a decent presence in the Atlantic, I don’t see any way to hold them off once you take the London.

Once you take London on turn 3 a good Russia player should be able to take Poland, SH and Romania, possibly Finland as well, not to mention they’re marching towards Iraq.

Let’s assume they hold off on Finland and Germany throws a sub in SZ 125 to deny the bonus; at that point Russia is still making 54 at the end of that turn and on its next turn should be in Iraq and Finland.  They could upgrade one or two factories to a major and then they’re marching into Germany easily.

• Customizer

Russia can not upgrade any of their factories to Majors because they are on territories that are only 2 IPCs. To upgrade a Minor to a Major, it has to be on a territory worth 3 IPCs or more.

When I play Germany, I tend to not make a dedicated attempt at Sealion. It tends to cost Germany too much in resources and as you have pointed out, Russia gets pretty strong and is hard to hold back, let alone pushing them back into Russia.