Thank you gentlemen… it is as I thought then.
They were not intentionally cheating, I am sure, however, they are still breaking the rules and will have to be penalized accordingly. Which probably means returning their ships to the proper sea zones, removing the infantry and surrendering whatever collected money they had to the bank.
Back to the flying tiger landing in Burma…… just think of it as an American volonteer group (not a Chinese air force) then allowing it to land in British controlled Burma even before UK/US is at war w/Japan makes more sense. The US sent these planes to the port of Rangoon in Burma with American “volunteer” pilots to basically side step neutrality in 1941 (although the game starts w/tiger in 1940, and its in China). This group was based in Burma before Pearl Harbor and did most of its training there. The flying tigers first action took place shortly after Pearl, and their objective at the time was to defend the Burma Road and keep the the supply line open. The tigers were based at both ends of the Burma Road in Rangoon Burma, and Kunming China (northern end of the Burma road). The Tigers weren’t fully relocated to China until after most of Burma (including Rangoon) was lost early in 1942.
I am just running into this situation in a game and I was glad to see that the answer is here. As complicated as this scenario is (to me), Krieg’s answer is completely supported by the rulebook. Thanks to all!
When one scramble for defense, can you decide to back after one round of fire? (as the defender_
Urgent, we stopped playing -.-
Asked and answered in the FAQ thread.
You cannot retreat as the defender for any reason.