I’ve tried this cheesy move two or three times, and barring the best possible situation (Japan has 4 unloaded transports you can deny them, and they DOW next round anyway to get the Philippines), it’s more a hindrance than a help to the Allies. I don’t think I’ll be using it in the future.
Ah never mind my previous comments, Kriegshund has it correct. There’s a special rule just for this scenario:
“An attacking land unit can assault a coastal territory
from an ally’s transport, but only on the turn of
the attacking land unit’s owner. All of the normal
requirements for transports offloading in a sea
zone must still be met by the attacking power (see
“Special Combat Movement, Transports”, page 16),
and any scrambled air units will prevent the landing
if they cannot be destroyed”
http://media.wizards.com/2015/downloads/ah/AA_europe_1940_rules.pdf (page 21)
On page 16 it permits a scramble to resist amphibious attacks:
“They can also be scrambled to resist amphibious
assaults from adjacent sea zones”
If a new territory is taken during combat phase can AA move to it during noncombat phase of that same turn?
(1940 alpha rules please)
Thanks in advance.
yes, and this is valid for OOB or really all versions previous. The only exception would be if the AA gun was on a transport that was used for an amphibious assault that turn (can’t use a transport during both combat and noncombat and AA guns can only move during noncombat). In previous versions AA guns that had been used for rocket attacks would prevent movement during noncombat, but as Airbases have taken that tech niche, I can’t think of any other way an AA gun would not be allowed to move during noncombat.
The only units that cannot end their noncom move in a newly captured space are aircraft.