The Germans have no destroyer present, therefore the defending air units can not hit the sub, and of course the sub can never hit planes. Think of it in terms of the combined arms rule, air units can only hit subs if they are combined with at least 1 participating destroyer, the difference with this particular combined arms is that it works while attacking and defending. In the scenario that you described, the sub would destroy the remaining transport without rolling and the defending fighters can do nothing.
Carrier Repair Question
When a carrier is repaired at a naval base, can any adjacent fighters/tacs automatically “hop on” without using up a movement point? Ie, can they start their combat movement from the carrier, not the land territory, kind of like when you place newly purchased fighters on a carrier adjacent to a territory with a complex. Thanks
Afraid not McX. They began the turn on land, so have to pay to move into the sea.
It is not the same as placing a newly purchased unit.
Great - thanks