The rules state that Germany can build an IC on axis minors that qualify. Can Germany build the IC on the turn they activate the minor or do you have to activate and then build the IC on the next turn?
I may make a rule change where italy can be attacked by the allies immediately after the turn germany takes paris or is at war with russia. This may keep italy at bay enough for the allies at the start of the game. This needs to be play tested.
Heres my take on minor power rules. These go along with the G39 simplified D6 rules i have posted.
Specifically id like to know what people think on Dutch Holland
Even more specific the text in blue
A minor power begins the game neutral, until activated, with no money. Each minor power may begin collecting IPCs on their first turn. As long as a minor power is neutral it may not attack or move, but may spend any IPCs collected. Once a minor power�s capital falls to the enemy, it is never liberated. Its remaining territories become pro-Allied or pro-Axis friendly respectively. However its forces may continue to move and attack on their respective turns.
Minor Allied powers, once activated, move and attack at the same time as the UK Common Wealth. However incomes and purchases are tracked separate. Any territories captured by minor Allied powers go to UK FEC (Asia/Pacific) or UK (Europe/Atlantic) respectively.
Dutch Holland: Holland is activated when Paris is taken by the Axis or if any Dutch territory is attacked by the Axis. A Japanese attack on the Dutch is considered an act of war against the Common Wealth. The territory of Holland may produce up to 2 units per turn. Once activated, Holland may lend any unspent IPCs, after producing 2 units in Holland, to the UK. These IPCs may be spent on the same turn by the UK. If an Axis power captures Holland on round 2, that Axis power will not capture any Dutch IPCs (they are lost). If an Axis power captures Holland on round 3 or later, that Axis power will receive half of the Dutch IPCs (round up), the rest are lost.
Poland: Poland becomes an active minor Allied power if Warsaw survives Germany�s first turn. NOTE: The Soviet Union may never activate Polish territories as pro-Allied neutrals. The Soviets are, however, free to attack and capture any Polish territories, including the capital of Warsaw, in which case the Soviets would capture any IPCs Poland has stored.
Minor Axis powers, once activated, move and attack at the same time as Germany. However incomes and purchases are tracked separate. Any territories captured by minor Axis powers go to Germany. Minor Axis powers may produce up to 3 units in their respective capital per turn.
Finland: Activated by German occupation (non-combat) and/or a Soviet attack that fails to take the capital Helsinki. The Soviet Union and the Axis may conduct combat within Finland territories (Helsinki, Torin, Viipuri) without a state of war existing. No attacks into original Soviet territories may come from Finland or Finnish units until Germany and the Soviet Union are at war. Finland collects a fixed income of 3 IPCs per turn.
Romania: Activated by German occupation (non-combat). No attacks may come from Romania or Romanian units until Germany and the Soviet Union are at war. Romania collects a fixed income of 6 IPCs per turn.
Bulgaria: Activated by German occupation (non-combat). No attacks may come from Bulgaria or Bulgarian units until Greece is controlled by the Axis, and Germany and the Soviet Union are at war. Bulgaria collects a fixed income of 4 IPCs per turn.
Argentina: Activated by German occupation (non-combat). Argentina collects a fixed income of 3 IPCs per turn. Capital is Viedma.
Siam: Activated by Japanese occupation (non-combat). No attacks may come from Siam until Japan is at war with the UK Common Wealth. Japan collects all income from Siam and any territories captured by Siam forces.
Regarding the Dutch: If Germany takes Holland round 1 there is no money to plunder, the DEI become pro Allied neutrals for the sake of the Common Wealth landing units in noncombat and taking the territories. The Dutch forces are activated by the German attack on Holland and may move with the Common Wealth on round 1. If Germany takes Holland round 2 the Dutch money collected on round 1 is all lost. DEI become pro allied, Dutch forces activated. If Germany takes Paris but not Holland on round 2, Holland may spend its money it collected on round 1 and move/attack with the Common Wealth as a minor allied power If Germany takes neither Paris or Holland on round 2, Holland remains neutral but may spend its money (on up to 2 units, saving the rest) and collect again If Germany takes Holland on round 3 or later Germany receives half of the Dutch IPCs (round up), DEI pro allies, Dutch forces activated
For G36 latest (v1.2) rules regardless of 36 or 39 start it is the same. There is no ‘activating’ of units or rolling for units. Minors align with or are controlled by a major power. Table 4-4 Alignment Sphere of Influence (p.21) describes who and how:
Nations Align with the Allies if the Axis declare war on them.
Nations come under Allied Control if they are Attacked by the Axis but the Attacking power is not at war with the Allies.
US gets all minor powers in the western hemisphere.
The British Commonwealth gets all the rest.
Nations Align with the Axis if the Allies or USSR declare war on them.
Nations come under Axis Control if they are Attacked by the Allies or USSR but the Attacker (Allies or USSR) is not at war with the Axis.
Japan gets Siam and Mongolia***.
Germany gets all the rest.
Mongolia and Republican Spain (if they won) Align with the USSR if any other nation declares war on them.
These two come under USSR Control if they are Attacked by anyone but the USSR is not at war with the attacker.
***Not specified in the rules but the only option that makes historical sense.
In addition, there are Special Alignment Conditions for over a dozen countries that are outlined on p.22-23, but Greece and Yugoslavia are not among them. So
Also, does Germany still collect income from finland and hungary when Germany activates them?Â The rules seem unclear on those countries, but they clearly state that germany collects from romania and bulgaria.
All Axis minor countries collect their own IPC’s for themselves. When activated by Germany, German IPC’s increase per the counrties IPC value on the map. The Axis minor still collects IPC’s for their own army. Romania and Bulgaria are different in that they collect an increased IPC amount and Germany only gets the IPC amount on the map.