• Sponsor

This has always been a strategy debated since the Alpha projects, and I’m curious to hear opinions on the topic now that a lot of round one strategies have been heavily tested.

• Customizer

It really depends on if Germany looks like they are going after London or straight after Russia. If Germany is clearly going after Russia, you can use planes from England to help in the Taranto raid.
    While I don’t usually care for the Taranto raid because you usually lose the Med fleet, it is a good way to really cripple the Italian fleet and set back their aspirations in the Med. Leaving Italy that battleship, cruiser and 2nd transport can mean a lot of trouble for the Allies.

• I am not a big proponent of Taranto, as I appreciate neither the vacuum it creates nor the RAF casualties I must sustain. However, if the germans haven’t even lent a single fighter to support the italians, I can rarely resist. Likelyhood of Sealion has little effect on my decision, as I generally must withdraw the shattered royal navy to canada or the med for the first few turns either way, until i can reinforce it. Mostly I just do it when i dont feel like having fun with a combined british fleet in the indian.

• IMHO, Taranto is a must every game. Most Allied players get at least +6 IPC’s bid every game, which is an extra Brit Sub in SZ98. That eliminates the need to bring both Brit fighters from the UK.

• I really wanted to vote for 2 options, but alas only 1 allowed ;-).
    For me, it depends on GE1 actions and how I know my German opponent (is he strong, experienced at Sea Lion and so on). Apart from that, destroying the Italian fleet UK2, or even being patient untill its fleet sails out to accomplish something is also something I like to do. Italy’s navy can usually sortie only once, because it will be leaving its aircover by doing so.

• Customizer

@ItIsILeClerc:

I really wanted to vote for 2 options, but alas only 1 allowed ;-).