Development of Alternate Version of Rules

• I’ve been playing Axis & Allies for over 20 years. When my brother got the Global 1939 map we thought it was absolutely amazing (there are only a few problems with it which we had to fix). When the rules came out we decided to develop a D6 version and have continued to do so since because we liked the D6 version and we liked much of what Larry Harris has developed already. But we had to make some changes too because we thought the basic combat rules of Axis & Allies could be improved to make the game more historically realistic. After extensive research on how combat actually occurred in WW2, we decided to introduce some major changes or adjustments to the combat rules and other rules.

For the set-up we started doing research about what nations actually had in 1939 and made some adjustments based on training, logistics and numbers of available troops to be mobilized. We didn’t change everything.