• '22 '16

My group is playing a game next Saturday and we are thinking about playing with timed turns.  Some in our group suffer from analysis paralysis and it can really slow down the game.  We usually play for about 8 hrs and make it somewhere around turn 6 -8.  Any body have experience/ideas for a timed game where we can get more turns in?  Thanks for the input.

• 2024 2023 '22 '21 '20 '19 '18 '17

I would be happy if people in my group were that “fast”…. 13 hrs last time and we still only made turn 6. No wonder we rarely play the game at all.

I have no experience with timed game turns in A&A, but the most time-intensive phase would probably be the combat move. So if you set a time limit for that, the question would be, what precisely to do when time is up. The problem with A&A is that executing a move takes time, simply because there may be many pieces to move - it’s not like chess. So if someone is still busy moving units into a combat zone when the buzzer sounds, you can’t really allow him to finish that entire move, because he will inevitably still be thinking and hesitating while doing that. I think you need to impose on your players to stop moving immediately when time is up, and give them the opportunity to undo the combat move into the last territory or sea zone they were busy moving into, by claiming that they had not finished. Such a claim would have to be made immediately, without further thought, and otherwise the (partial) move would stand.

But that’s just an idea of mine. If you try it, or anything else,  I’d be interested to learn how you fare with it.

• Customizer