How does Infantry crossing sea with Transports


  • In the rule book, it says that loading and offloading of a land unit counts as 1 move of the land unit. Does that mean if an infantry moves onto a transport, it cannot be offloaded because its moves are used up?


  • No, land units CAN be loaded/offloaded in a single turn.

    The rule you are reading relates to an infantry (or armor, artillery, etc.) moving one land space and THEN loading onto a transport. What they’re trying to tell you is that you cannot do that. You can MOVE, or you are can LOAD to a transport in an adjacent sea zone (which can then move if you so desire, or not, and UNLOAD), but you cannot do both (moving + loading/unloading) in a single turn.

    Another common area of confusion is that a transport cannot offload onto two separate spaces on the same turn. So, it must either offload all cargo onto one land space, or, of it offloads only 1 unit, must wait till the next turn to offload the other.

    Hope that’s clear.


  • @OutlawUnForgiven:

    No, land units CAN be loaded/offloaded in a single turn.

    The rule you are reading relates to an infantry (or armor, artillery, etc.) moving one land space and THEN loading onto a transport. What they’re trying to tell you is that you cannot do that. You can MOVE, or you are can LOAD to a transport in an adjacent sea zone (which can then move if you so desire, or not, and UNLOAD), but you cannot do both (moving + loading/unloading) in a single turn.

    Another common area of confusion is that a transport cannot offload onto two separate spaces on the same turn. So, it must either offload all cargo onto one land space, or, of it offloads only 1 unit, must wait till the next turn to offload the other.

    Hope that’s clear.

    So load + unload = 1 move?

    Thanks


  • Yes. With a reminder caveat that you cannot take a Tank with 2 moves, move into a land zone with a transport next to it, and THEN load it onto the transport (thinking to yourself your tank has 2 moves and moving to the land zone only cost you 1 of them)…basically if you want to load a transport, the item being loaded must start in that land zone from which it’s loading, or the transport must move to the sea zone adjacent to the land unit thus expending some of its movement potential.


  • @OutlawUnForgiven:

    Yes. With a reminder caveat that you cannot take a Tank with 2 moves, move into a land zone with a transport next to it, and THEN load it onto the transport (thinking to yourself your tank has 2 moves and moving to the land zone only cost you 1 of them)…basically if you want to load a transport, the item being loaded must start in that land zone from which it’s loading, or the transport must move to the sea zone adjacent to the land unit thus expending some of its movement potential.

    Thanks!

  • Official Q&A

    Also, a unit may not move after offloading from a transport.


  • so was it made clear here that these moves by infantry and artillery need to be done during the combat phase (amph assualt) in order for those two units to be able to get loaded and offloaded in same turn? cuz if its done during non combat phase then those two units DO take up there one movement to get on transport leaving them stuck at sea…unless there a tank of course…didnt see anyone explaining that to him sorry

  • Official Q&A

    That’s not true.  It doesn’t work any differently in noncombat movement than it does in combat  movement, other than there being no attack involved (the movement must end in a friendly territory or at sea).


  • so ur telling me in the non combat phase a unit that can only move 1 space can be loaded on a transport and offloaded in the same turn to a friendly territory? WOW…thats true? so this is basically what 1914 considers as a Amph. reinforcement then…but untill 1914 came out they never used this term before…how come? how is it that the rules for all the editions were not clear on this…it just seems unfair that a inf. or artillery can get on and off in the noncombat phase…the rules make it seem like this was only possible during a amph assault…this is jawdropping lol


  • Don’t think of loading/unloading transports as using the units’ movement point, think of it as part of the transport’s special ability to carry units. A transport may load units up to its capacity, so long as those units have not moved yet during the turn, and may unload any amount of cargo (none, one unit, or both) once per turn (so no split unloading). However, units that have been unloaded are not able to move for the rest of the turn, and you may not load or move a transport after unloading.

Suggested Topics

  • 111
  • 4
  • 18
  • 4
  • 3
  • 5
  • 3
  • 4
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Axis & Allies Boardgaming Custom Painted Miniatures
Dean's Army Guys

76
Online

15.8k
Users

37.4k
Topics

1.6m
Posts