Welcome! If you're a returning member of the forums, please reset your password. If you don't receive an email within minutes, it means your account is listed under another, likely older, email address. Contact webmaster@axisandallies.org for help.

Blitzing into a neutral



  • Can a tank “blitz” through a territory into an unactivated friendly neutral? For example, can an Italian tank in Egypt blitz through unoccupied Trans-Jordan on combat move and then into pro-Axis Iraq to activate the infantry there on non-combat?

    Thanks


  • 2007 AAR League

    I do not see a problem here.

    As for my part the move is legal.



  • Thanks. Was thinking it wasn’t legal, as the rules for non-combat state that the unit must not have moved during the combat phase, and activating a friendly neutral can only be done on non-combat.


  • 2017 2016 Customizer

    I don’t think that’s legal if you’re using the tank that “blitzed” Trans-jorden on the combat move. As stated before, I don’t think you can take control of a friendly neutral on the non-com move using a unit that was used in the combat move.


  • 2007 AAR League

    @McX:

    Thanks. Was thinking it wasn’t legal, as the rules for non-combat state that the unit must not have moved during the combat phase, and activating a friendly neutral can only be done on non-combat.

    but the tank s second move is in noncombat phase.

    think it is legal but see some of the moderators for secure answer


  • 2017 2016 Customizer

    @Amon-Sul:

    but the tank s second move is in noncombat phase.

    There is no “second move” once a tank is used in combat. (In this case -blitzing) In the non-com move, only land units that were not used in combat can move.


  • 2018 2017 2016 2015 '14 Customizer

    Thought the tank can only blitz on a combat move without ingaging in combat in first territory and then go into 2nd territory.


  • 2017 2016 Customizer

    @SS:

    Thought the tank can only blitz on a combat move without ingaging in combat in first territory and then go into 2nd territory.

    That’s accurate too. A tank can blitz through one unoccupied enemy territory into a 2nd one to take over both. Or it can move through one friendly territory into a unoccupied enemy territory for the blitz. What the OP described above was blitzing into one unoccupied enemy territory on the combat move then moving one territory on the non-com into a friendly neutral, which one cannot do w/ the tank that was used in combat. (Blitzing is considered combat) I think the OP thought that b/c only one spaced was used on the tank in the combat move, he could use the 2nd move on the non-com, which is not the case. Once a tank used in combat, regardless of how many spaces it moved to get there, it cannot move again in the non-com.



  • Maddogs right.

    The only reason the tank can move into a hostile territory and continue is due to the ‘blitz’ ability. The ‘blitz’ ability only works during combat-move.

    Therefore, moving into Trans-jordan would activate the ‘blitz’ ability, allowing you to move into another territory.
    but if you choose to stay (which you did), then the tank would have used up ALL of its movement that turn.


  • 2007 AAR League

    are u sure?

    then triple a is wrong



  • @Amon-Sul:

    are u sure?

    then triple a is wrong

    No it’s not.  If you were to look at the notes, it says:

    “Do not allow blitzing or movement through Friendly Neutrals.”

    under

    “Rules the engine does not do, but you must follow:”


  • 2018 2017 2016

    Friendly neutrals: “They can be moved into (but not through) as a noncombat move by land units of a power that is at war.” (AA40.2, rule book, p. 10)

    Combat move, Blitzing: “A tank can “blitz” by moving through an unoccupied hostile territory as the first part of a move that can end in a friendly or hostile territory.(…) The complete move must occur during the combat move phase.” (AA40.2, rule book, p.15)

    A tank which is blitzing moves in the combat movement phase. Blitzing does not allow to end the second move of the combat movement in a friendly neutral territory. Friendly neutral teritorries can only be moved into in the noncombat movement phase. It would be possible to end the second move of a blitzing manouver in an unfriendly neutral territory.


  • 2007 AAR League

    thank U guys 🙂


  • 2017

    Just in case it helps the OP, remember that if you have an extra unit available, you could use that unit to capture unoccupied Transjordan in combat movement, then wait until noncombat movement to move your tank through the now friendly Transjordan to activate Iraq.

    If you only have the tank available, that doesn’t help though.



  • Thanks. In this situation there was one tank that survived the initial Battle of Egypt. Had there been say an infantry we could have taken over Trans-Jordan with him and moved the tank into Iraq on non-combat. Seems kind of funny though now that I think about it - a tank can blitz into Trans-Jordan and back to Egypt (the move back would seem rather non-combat-ish) but not from Trans-Jordan into a friendly neutral. Weird rules thing, I guess


  • '12

    @Amon-Sul:

    are u sure?

    then triple a is wrong

    It happens occasionally  :? 😮


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    @dedo:

    Friendly neutrals: “They can be moved into (but not through) as a noncombat move by land units of a power that is at war.” (AA40.2, rule book, p. 10)

    Combat move, Blitzing: “A tank can “blitz” by moving through an unoccupied hostile territory as the first part of a move that can end in a friendly or hostile territory.(…) The complete move must occur during the combat move phase.” (AA40.2, rule book, p.15)

    A tank which is blitzing moves in the combat movement phase. Blitzing does not allow to end the second move of the combat movement in a friendly neutral territory. Friendly neutral teritorries can only be moved into in the noncombat movement phase. It would be possible to end the second move of a blitzing manouver in an unfriendly neutral territory.

    This is all correct.

    Triple A is rife with rules violations.  Every Triple A player should familiarize themselves with this list:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1cS3hFwoBP0rWr3208jw1LAtCvHYa9Ji9uU8PwbCMIwM/edit



  • @McX:

    Can a tank “blitz” through a territory into an unactivated friendly neutral? For example, can an Italian tank in Egypt blitz through unoccupied Trans-Jordan on combat move and then into pro-Axis Iraq to activate the infantry there on non-combat?

    Thanks

    Officialy it cannot be done because of the stupid rule that you must have 2 move phases 1 combat and 1 non-combat.
    If you just think logical then it should be possible, you only move 2 steps.

    Slightly offtopic
    The whole non combat move is illogical, movement is a represntation of time, so how can ships starting after the others already arived still arive at the same time.



  • Battles occur in minutes to hours, movement would be days to weeks.  Coordinating sortees and naval movements to build up for larger invasion forces can take weeks to months.

    It’s not illogical as time isn’t meant to be accurately represented - time in A&A is an abstraction (if not completely irrelevant).  The rules are such to prevent leapfrogging and movement exploits exactly such as these, the implication being that the game is more balanced and the map designed with these movement rules in mind.


  • 2007 AAR League

    @Gamerman01:

    @dedo:

    Friendly neutrals: “They can be moved into (but not through) as a noncombat move by land units of a power that is at war.” (AA40.2, rule book, p. 10)

    Combat move, Blitzing: “A tank can “blitz” by moving through an unoccupied hostile territory as the first part of a move that can end in a friendly or hostile territory.(…) The complete move must occur during the combat move phase.” (AA40.2, rule book, p.15)

    A tank which is blitzing moves in the combat movement phase. Blitzing does not allow to end the second move of the combat movement in a friendly neutral territory. Friendly neutral teritorries can only be moved into in the noncombat movement phase. It would be possible to end the second move of a blitzing manouver in an unfriendly neutral territory.

    This is all correct.

    Triple A is rife with rules violations.  Every Triple A player should familiarize themselves with this list:
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1cS3hFwoBP0rWr3208jw1LAtCvHYa9Ji9uU8PwbCMIwM/edit

    It seems that Veqryn made a new map without errors  8-) 8-) 8-)


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    Oh, really?  Because he only listed 4 minor things that he fixed, mostly DOW rules.
    And then I went to the TripleA site, and there was no mention of the new version.  :?


  • 2007 AAR League

    I turned on Triple A andthe program told me to get the new version of Global. In the description it wrote All bugs fixed, Triple A now according to rules in everythin Something like this. And Veqryn s name by it. It was red this map so i had to download it. That is what i read, I am sure.

    But even if it is not we thank him for even a smallest improve of the program.


  • 2007 AAR League

    it seems that U re right. Well i hoped for it but we have to wait for them to make the program 100 % correct. I hope it will be in this year and that we can enjoy the game at max :)))


  • 2015 Official Answers '11 '10 Moderator

    3.8 Moved Politics phase to be after Purchase phase and before Combat Move phase. China can declare war on European Axis if they move into China’s allowed movement range. ANZAC can now declare war on True Neutrals. Added the 1942 scenario.

    This is the change log in Triple A

    I see the download you are talking about now.  You get it through the program, and download the G40 map again.
    If you look in the description of the map in Triple A, there is a long list of rules that Triple A does not observe.
    You should not only consider this list but mine as well.  I think there are several on my list that are not acknowledged in the game notes.
    Or, if you just go by my list, you will have a pretty good idea of what rules TripleA does not properly follow.  My list is a compilation of all issues that players have brought to my attention over the past year or so, along with several I encountered myself in my own games.

    I’m afraid this upgrade is a very modest one.


  • Liaison TripleA '11 '10

    I’m afraid this upgrade is a very modest one.

    Let’s live in fear!!! LOL 😛


Log in to reply
 

Welcome to the new forums! For security and technical reasons, we did not migrate your password. Therefore to get started, please reset your password. You may use your email address or username. Please note that your username is not your display name.

If you're having problems, please send an email to webmaster@axisandallies.org

T-shirts, Hats, and More

Suggested Topics

  • 4
  • 3
  • 17
  • 9
  • 2
  • 18
  • 4
  • 2
I Will Never Grow Up Games

53
Online

13.2k
Users

33.5k
Topics

1.3m
Posts